Support 10bit ???

Support for HandBrake on Linux, Solaris, and other Unix-like platforms
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
Post Reply
mrcrowley
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2016 10:56 am

Support 10bit ???

Post by mrcrowley »

I am Chakra Fermi and the version of Handbrake that I tried was 0.10.2.
Chakra's developers says that because of the fact that Handbrake doesn't support 10 bit, they must install x264-8bit packet that create conflict with other programs that require x264 (with 10bit).
So is it true that Handbrake can't use x264 with 10bit or not ???

rollin_eng
Veteran User
Posts: 3444
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 11:06 pm

Re: Support 10bit ???

Post by rollin_eng »

Does this answer your question?

viewtopic.php?f=12&t=32859

mrcrowley
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2016 10:56 am

Re: Support 10bit ???

Post by mrcrowley »

So I guess that's right.
But there are no plans to implement 10 bit support ???

rollin_eng
Veteran User
Posts: 3444
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 11:06 pm

Re: Support 10bit ???

Post by rollin_eng »

Sorry, I read 265 instead of 264.

rollin_eng
Veteran User
Posts: 3444
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 11:06 pm

Re: Support 10bit ???

Post by rollin_eng »

This might be more useful:
JohnAStebbins wrote:x264 10bit support through shared libs is now possible. HandBrake doesn't distributed the shared libs. You will have to find or build and install them yourself.

Since the x264 developers did not create an agreed upon naming convention for alternate-bit encoder libs, I've implemented a search for a variety of names. Fedora uses libx26410b, ubuntu uses /usr/lib/ARCH/x264-10bit/libx264.so.xxx (which is particularly annoying since you must use an absolute path to access it *and* try version numbers till you get lucky). I also search for libx264_main10 which is similar to the convention established by the x265 developers.

https://github.com/HandBrake/HandBrake/ ... d3d2bc710f

FallenSnow
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2015 6:49 pm

Re: Support 10bit ???

Post by FallenSnow »

Idk if it would actually work but you could try compiling HandBrake yourself and changing line 12 in contrib/x264/module.def from

Code: Select all

X264.CONFIGURE.extra  = --bit-depth=8 --chroma-format=420
to

Code: Select all

X264.CONFIGURE.extra  = --bit-depth=10 --chroma-format=420
This is similar to what I do for x265 in my encoding https://github.com/FallingSnow/h265ize# ... it-encodes. You would need to clone the github HandBrake repository rather than the svn.

Post Reply