How to encode files (1 pass) that still grow?

Support for HandBrake on Linux, Solaris, and other Unix-like platforms
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
gepebril

How to encode files (1 pass) that still grow?

Post by gepebril »

Hi there,

I'm just new to HandBarke after using Mencoder a lot. The results so far on CLI have been excellent.
I'm looking for a feature, that will speed up the result of encoding time. Let say I record a TV show (.ts MPEG stream) and like to start encoding 1-pass after 10 minutes after the show starts. I can do that as the fps encoding is less than the fps of the recorded file. This will save me a lot of time. Example
Show start 20:00
Show finish 21:00
Normally I can start encoding at 21:01, I like to start like 20:01 or later. If I do that now it only encodes the file part that was present when I start encoding. What should I do that it keeps encoding until the source file stops growing. Is this possible, or should I request that feature?

Thanks in advance,

Albert
s55
HandBrake Team

Re: How to encode files (1 pass) that still grow?

Post by s55 »

HandBrake doesn't support frame severing. The internal workflow isn't designed to handle this kind of thing I'm afraid.

You'll need the complete file.
gepebril

Post by gepebril »

Aha,

Thanks for this information. Are you one of the developers of HandBreak?
That's a shame that the internal structure doesn't work like that. What I do see is that you can play the encoded file as soon as the encoding starts, so HandBreak doesn't first encode video, than audio and than start muxing. It seems it encodes audio + video at the same time and mux simultaneously.

If it will not be an upcoming feature of HandBrake is this "problem" solvable with Avisynth?
gepebril

Post by gepebril »

No one?