Opening source alternates between default and last

Support for HandBrake on Linux, Solaris, and other Unix-like platforms
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
Post Reply
ahow628
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2020 3:53 pm

Opening source alternates between default and last

Post by ahow628 »

Description of problem or question:
When I click the "Choose Video Source/Open Source" button, it doesn't open to the same location each time.



Steps to reproduce the problem (If Applicable):
After launching the application and click the "Choose Video Source" button, it opens at the previously used custom location (eg: /videos). If I cancel and click it again, it opens to my default Home folder (eg: ~/). If I continue to open more sources, it alternates between my previous location and the default home folder.
Image
Image

HandBrake version (e.g., 1.0.0):
1.3.3 from PPA



Operating system and version (e.g., Ubuntu 16.04 LTS, macOS 10.13 High Sierra, Windows 10 Creators Update):
Ubuntu 20.04.1 LTS (though it has been doing this for years on many previous Ubuntu versions.



HandBrake Activity Log ***required*** (see How-to get an activity log)

Code: Select all

[11:55:23] gtkgui: HandBrake 1.3.3 (2020061500) - Linux x86_64 - https://handbrake.fr
Cannot load libnvidia-encode.so.1
[11:55:23] hb_init: starting libhb thread
[11:55:23] hb_init: starting libhb thread
[11:55:23] hb_init: starting libhb thread
libdvdread: Encrypted DVD support unavailable.
musicvid
Veteran User
Posts: 3724
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2009 1:19 am

Re: Opening source alternates between default and last

Post by musicvid »

And what would you like it to do? It seems to be a feature, not a "problem."
ahow628
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2020 3:53 pm

Re: Opening source alternates between default and last

Post by ahow628 »

musicvid wrote: Tue Oct 20, 2020 3:05 am And what would you like it to do? It seems to be a feature, not a "problem."
I would like it to open the last opened location every time I click the Open Source button. All of my DVD rips go into a folder and I would like Handbrake to go to that folder instead of alternating between the DVD rips folder and my home folder (which has no rips in it).

I've highlighted the problem area in red below.

My current regular flow is:
1) Rip DVDs
2) Open Handbrake
3) Click "open source" (shows DVD rips folder)
4) Select a DVD rip
5) Click ok
6) Start Handbrake encode
7) Click "open source" (shows my home folder)
8) Click cancel

9) Click "open source (shows DVD rips folder)
10) Select a DVD rip
11) Click ok
12) Start Handbrake encode
musicvid
Veteran User
Posts: 3724
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2009 1:19 am

Re: Opening source alternates between default and last

Post by musicvid »

Then you are making what is known as a "Feature Request."
There is a Forum for that. It isn't here. Github is a service that is really fun. You will like it!

feature.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
ahow628
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2020 3:53 pm

Re: Opening source alternates between default and last

Post by ahow628 »

musicvid wrote: Tue Oct 20, 2020 8:11 pm Then you are making what is known as a "Feature Request."
There is a Forum for that. It isn't here. Github is a service that is really fun. You will like it!
Ok, but it sure seems like a bug. I can't think of another application where the open button doesn't open to the same location every time you click it. As a matter of fact, Handbrake on my Mac does open to the same location every time (last opened folder).
musicvid
Veteran User
Posts: 3724
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2009 1:19 am

Re: Opening source alternates between default and last

Post by musicvid »

Handbrake works. Therefore you are reporting a preference not a bug.
But how on earth could this make any difference to you?
Both Bugs and Feature Requests go on Github.
Use it or not, but please don't cry about it in the peer support area, thanks.
ahow628
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2020 3:53 pm

Re: Opening source alternates between default and last

Post by ahow628 »

In case anyone else runs into this, it is a bug in Ubuntu libgtk. I fixed it (thanks to jstebbins) by uninstalling the PPA version and installing the flatpak version. The "open source" button opens the last opened location every time.
musicvid
Veteran User
Posts: 3724
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2009 1:19 am

Re: Opening source alternates between default and last

Post by musicvid »

Thanks for taking the initiative and arriving at a proactive solution.
Post Reply