Pause/Resume does not work if computer goes to sleep

Archive of historical bug reports.
Please use the GitHub link above to report issues.
Forum rules
*******************************
Please be aware we are now using GitHub for issue tracking and feature requests.
- This section of the forum is now closed to new topics.

*******************************
Post Reply
acidity
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2007 4:07 pm

Pause/Resume does not work if computer goes to sleep

Post by acidity »

So, I downloaded handbrake yesterday and tried it for the first time. I was ripping a DVD and in between I had to go somewhere. So I clicked Pause. Once I came back I clicked on Resume and immediately the status info was shown as operation being done when 30% of ripping was still left.

I started the till then ripped AVI file and as expected only 70% of the movie was ripped.

Is it a known behavior? I am using 0.8.0 BETA on Mac OS X 10.4 with all latest updated by Apple.
cbud
Bright Spark User
Posts: 181
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 2:24 am

Post by cbud »

Reading from a DVD disc or from files off your hard drive?
acidity
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2007 4:07 pm

Post by acidity »

DVD disc in my drive.

I had to put the machine in sleep mode but the disc was always there in the drive.
jbrjake
Veteran User
Posts: 4805
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 1:38 am

Post by jbrjake »

Edited thread topic to be less misleading.
cbud
Bright Spark User
Posts: 181
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 2:24 am

Post by cbud »

I have paused for many minutes (30 or so) and resumed without a problem. But I always read from the hard drive and the computer is set to never sleep.
cvk_b
Veteran User
Posts: 527
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 2:11 am

Post by cvk_b »

I have also seen problems (kernel panics) if the mac sleeps while encoding. But I am running newest svn, so I expected hiccups and did not bother to report. Why does the system think itself 'idle' while encoding? For now, I have turned off sleep altogether.
Post Reply