[Fixed] After Scanning Input Window Doesn't Close

Archive of historical bug reports.
Please use the GitHub link above to report issues.
Forum rules
*******************************
Please be aware we are now using GitHub for issue tracking and feature requests.
- This section of the forum is now closed to new topics.

*******************************
Post Reply
FrostByte
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat Dec 12, 2015 7:16 pm

[Fixed] After Scanning Input Window Doesn't Close

Post by FrostByte » Tue Apr 11, 2017 11:54 am

Please describe the problem in as much detail as possible:
After opening an mkv the file scanner gets to 100% and then the box with the spinning circle never closes


What are the steps to reproduce this problem:
Start HB
Open MKV


What version of HandBrake you are running:
20170410160332-0a8dde9-master (2017041101) - 64bit


What operating system and version and you running (e.g. OSX 10.11, Windows 7, Ubuntu 14):
Windows 10 Pro 14393.969 64-bit


Where did you download HandBrake from? handbrake.fr or somewhere else?
https://handbrake.fr/nightly.php


If there was any error, exception or crash report displayed, please copy it and paste it here:
N/A

Please include the scan or encode log:
https://pastebin.com/cZY1320Q


Image

FrostByte
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat Dec 12, 2015 7:16 pm

Re: After Scanning Input Window Doesn't Close

Post by FrostByte » Tue Apr 11, 2017 11:59 am

Fell back a day to version HandBrake-20170410-43b9078_x86_64-Win_GUI and mkv opens with no problem

User avatar
s55
HandBrake Team
Posts: 9545
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 1:05 pm

Re: After Scanning Input Window Doesn't Close

Post by s55 » Tue Apr 11, 2017 1:26 pm

There is nothing between those two builds that would explain a difference in behaviour, so I suspect you still have a problem but it's just intermittent.

I've put a change in to help track down why this happens. https://github.com/HandBrake/HandBrake/ ... b1672771e4

Can you please try tomorrows nightly and report back with a new activity log.

FrostByte
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat Dec 12, 2015 7:16 pm

Re: After Scanning Input Window Doesn't Close

Post by FrostByte » Tue Apr 11, 2017 1:29 pm

Will do, thanks

User avatar
s55
HandBrake Team
Posts: 9545
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 1:05 pm

Re: After Scanning Input Window Doesn't Close

Post by s55 » Tue Apr 11, 2017 1:34 pm

New build is live on the nightly page.

FrostByte
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat Dec 12, 2015 7:16 pm

Re: After Scanning Input Window Doesn't Close

Post by FrostByte » Tue Apr 11, 2017 1:48 pm

Okay, loaded HandBrake-20170411-ec65fcb_x86_64-Win_GUI and it worked fine. Here is the log:

https://pastebin.com/JmnAvBcE

The version number didn't change in the header of the log, but that's definitely the new one you just put up.

As a test I reloaded HandBrake-20170411-0a8dde9_x86_64-Win_GUI from the day before and it hung at the same spot again then reloaded HandBrake-20170411-ec65fcb_x86_64-Win_GUI and it works :)

FrostByte
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat Dec 12, 2015 7:16 pm

Re: After Scanning Input Window Doesn't Close

Post by FrostByte » Tue Apr 11, 2017 1:53 pm

Well, except the new version you just put up doesn't add any audio tracks and I get the following error when trying to add any

https://pastebin.com/Z7MK6cvC

Oh, and no chapters are added either
Last edited by FrostByte on Tue Apr 11, 2017 1:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.

rollin_eng
Veteran User
Posts: 3163
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 11:06 pm

Re: After Scanning Input Window Doesn't Close

Post by rollin_eng » Tue Apr 11, 2017 1:55 pm

Is it just a Blu Ray rip from makemkv?

If so I can test it too.

FrostByte
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat Dec 12, 2015 7:16 pm

Re: After Scanning Input Window Doesn't Close

Post by FrostByte » Tue Apr 11, 2017 1:56 pm

rollin_eng wrote:
Tue Apr 11, 2017 1:55 pm
Is it just a Blu Ray rip from makemkv?

If so I can test it too.
Yes, latest version of MakeMKV.

User avatar
s55
HandBrake Team
Posts: 9545
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 1:05 pm

Re: After Scanning Input Window Doesn't Close

Post by s55 » Tue Apr 11, 2017 1:57 pm

Nothing to do with the source.

Are your audio defaults setup with an audio encoder? Looks like it's empty.

FrostByte
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat Dec 12, 2015 7:16 pm

Re: After Scanning Input Window Doesn't Close

Post by FrostByte » Tue Apr 11, 2017 2:01 pm

No, just using plain HB. The version you just put up doesn't add audio or chapters. Fell back again and here is the activity log using same input, but audio and chapters are now there

https://pastebin.com/9dkf8LSk

User avatar
s55
HandBrake Team
Posts: 9545
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 1:05 pm

Re: After Scanning Input Window Doesn't Close

Post by s55 » Tue Apr 11, 2017 2:04 pm

I'm pushing another fix to the nightly page. Should be up in the next 10 minutes.

That should take care of that problem however it's odd that it even happened in the first place.
The "Configure Defaults" button on the audio tab. If you check that, are all the dropdowns populated?

Give the next build a shot when it appears shortly and let me know.

FrostByte
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat Dec 12, 2015 7:16 pm

Re: After Scanning Input Window Doesn't Close

Post by FrostByte » Tue Apr 11, 2017 2:08 pm

Yes, all 4 drop down buttons look fine with all the options there after clicking Configure Defaults.

Thanks

FrostByte
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat Dec 12, 2015 7:16 pm

Re: After Scanning Input Window Doesn't Close

Post by FrostByte » Tue Apr 11, 2017 2:21 pm

I'm getting audio and chapters now using HandBrake-20170411-2aa7640_x86_64-Win_GUI

https://pastebin.com/Q4Qt3RLe

However, before loading I deleted my User Preset and used one of the HB Matroska ones built into HB if you think that had anything to do with no audio or chapters. Either way, right now both issues seem to be fixed. The source now opens without hanging after scan and I now have audio and video

FrostByte
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat Dec 12, 2015 7:16 pm

Re: After Scanning Input Window Doesn't Close

Post by FrostByte » Tue Apr 11, 2017 2:34 pm

Okay, I recreated my User Preset and I'm still getting no audio and chapters.

Is it possible User Presets is broken?

https://pastebin.com/MbnHNePg

User avatar
s55
HandBrake Team
Posts: 9545
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 1:05 pm

Re: After Scanning Input Window Doesn't Close

Post by s55 » Tue Apr 11, 2017 3:20 pm

Any errors?

Anything in the log window?


EDIT: Nevermind, your preset has triggered another issue. Looking into it.
EDIT2: Autopassthru triggers it. I've committed a fix which will be available in 10 minutes.

FrostByte
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat Dec 12, 2015 7:16 pm

Re: After Scanning Input Window Doesn't Close

Post by FrostByte » Tue Apr 11, 2017 3:34 pm

No popup errors, just the same kind of errors I already posted before. I deleted my old Preset though and recreated using same settings. It's just that I can use one of the built in presets fine, but can't use the ones I'm creating any more like I can using builds from a couple days ago.


This is a newly recreated User Preset using the same settings I've always had:
https://pastebin.com/MbnHNePg

Activity Log after scan input:
https://pastebin.com/fn56z3ve

Error when trying to right click and add all remaining tracks in audio:
https://pastebin.com/quVtk7hL

Edit: Using User Presets I get no audio and no chapters using current nighlty

User avatar
s55
HandBrake Team
Posts: 9545
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 1:05 pm

Re: After Scanning Input Window Doesn't Close

Post by s55 » Tue Apr 11, 2017 3:57 pm

Running f09dc2d?

FrostByte
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat Dec 12, 2015 7:16 pm

Re: After Scanning Input Window Doesn't Close

Post by FrostByte » Tue Apr 11, 2017 4:03 pm

s55 wrote:
Tue Apr 11, 2017 3:57 pm
Running f09dc2d?
Okay, that did it using f09dc2d now. Hadn't noticed you made another update, sorry.

Thanks, all looks good now

Post Reply