Handbrake 1.0.1 breaks audio sync when adding subtitles

Archive of historical bug reports.
Please use the GitHub link above to report issues.
Forum rules
*******************************
Please be aware we are now using GitHub for issue tracking and feature requests.
- This section of the forum is now closed to new topics.

*******************************
Post Reply
tino de rijk
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2017 11:36 am

Handbrake 1.0.1 breaks audio sync when adding subtitles

Post by tino de rijk » Wed Jan 04, 2017 11:43 am

Please describe the problem in as much detail as possible:
Handbrake 1.0.1 sometimes breaks the audio sync when adding subtitles to an MP4 file.

What are the steps to reproduce this problem:
- take MP4 file, see that audio sync is o.k.
- add external SRT file, burned in, and audio now many times is way out of sync with the video (SRT timing is o.k.).

What version of HandBrake you are running:
I am now back to 0.10.5 which works just fine. The problem was introduced by 1.0.1.

What operating system and version and you running (e.g. OSX 10.11, Windows 7, Ubuntu 14):
OSX 10.11.16

If there was any exception or error displayed, please copy it and paste it here:
No.

Please include the scan or encode log:
Not available. Sorry....

Code: Select all

 Paste your log here between the code brackets, or use a pastebin website. 

rollin_eng
Veteran User
Posts: 3163
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 11:06 pm

Re: Handbrake 1.0.1 breaks audio sync when adding subtitles

Post by rollin_eng » Wed Jan 04, 2017 1:04 pm

Could you please post your logs, instructions can be found here:

viewtopic.php?f=6&t=31236

mduell
Veteran User
Posts: 6669
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:54 pm

Re: Handbrake 1.0.1 breaks audio sync when adding subtitles

Post by mduell » Wed Jan 04, 2017 4:33 pm

tino de rijk wrote:Please include the scan or encode log:
Not available. Sorry....
Nor is any meaningful help then.

How long is a piece of string?

tino de rijk
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2017 11:36 am

Re: Handbrake 1.0.1 breaks audio sync when adding subtitles

Post by tino de rijk » Wed Jan 11, 2017 11:18 pm

I don't know exactly how long a piece of string is, but I think this problem is easily reproducable. And it is V1.0.1 specific, as restoring my older version of Handbrake removes the problem: audio is perfectly in sync again when applying subtitles.
I don't have the logfile as I reverted back to the old(er) version (0.10.5). Sorry......

User avatar
JohnAStebbins
HandBrake Team
Posts: 5442
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 7:21 pm

Re: Handbrake 1.0.1 breaks audio sync when adding subtitles

Post by JohnAStebbins » Thu Jan 12, 2017 6:07 pm

It's not easily reproducible for me, which means there is more to reproducing it than "add external SRT file, burned in". Some other setting is involved in the desync which you haven't shared.

This is why activity logs are required.

Post Reply