[Fixed] HB Won't Save My Audio Settings w/ Custom Presets

Archive of historical bug reports.
Please use the GitHub link above to report issues.
Forum rules
*******************************

Please be aware we are now using GitHub for issue tracking and feature requests.

- This forum is now closed to new topics.
- Existing topics will remain open for a short while as the transition over occurs.
*******************************
mduell
Veteran User
Posts: 6146
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:54 pm

Re: [Fixed] HB Won't Save My Audio Settings w/ Custom Presets

Post by mduell » Wed Apr 26, 2017 5:27 pm

What's in the audio tab is never saved in the preset, only the audio defaults are saved are saved.

What's in the audio tab is the outcome of the interaction between the defaults in the preset and the specific source file, plus any manual adjustments. This is not necessarily applicable (either technically or user preference) to the next source, whereas what's in the defaults is applicable to any next source.

In other words what you see in the audio tab is the sausage made, not the recipe, and the recipe is what needs to be saved in the preset because it's the only thing that can be applied to future sources.

User avatar
Rodeo
HandBrake Team
Posts: 11946
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:55 pm

Re: [Fixed] HB Won't Save My Audio Settings w/ Custom Presets

Post by Rodeo » Wed Apr 26, 2017 5:33 pm

ckronengold wrote:
Wed Apr 26, 2017 5:23 pm
I'm finding that I need to configure the default AND match it in the Audio tab for it to save properly. Seems different than before.
It is different when compared to version 0.9.x and earlier, because they didn't have a page to configure the defaults (basically they looked at the audio tab and tried to guess what defaults would produce the selected audio tab output. The new system takes some getting used to, but it's more explicit and more flexible than before.

ckronengold
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 8:31 am

Re: [Fixed] HB Won't Save My Audio Settings w/ Custom Presets

Post by ckronengold » Thu Apr 27, 2017 12:32 pm

Rodeo wrote:
Wed Apr 26, 2017 5:33 pm
The new system takes some getting used to, but it's more explicit and more flexible than before.
Guess so! Glad that I'm not going crazy. Maybe its time for me to go back and see the updates in the documentation.

Thanks!

Cantar4
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2016 7:07 am

Re: [Fixed] HB Won't Save My Audio Settings w/ Custom Presets

Post by Cantar4 » Mon Sep 18, 2017 3:29 pm

ckronengold wrote:
Thu Apr 27, 2017 12:32 pm
Maybe its time for me to go back and see the updates in the documentation.
Whatever I tried to align Defaults and Tab values
with version 0.9.x, I never got sticky Audio presets. But now, with the latest 2017 09 15 nightly built in which "Configure Defaults" is replaced by "Selection Behaviour" (and some code underneath...), it perfectly works.

Post Reply