Handbrake not compressing w/ OSX 10.9.3 + more issues...

Archive of historical bug reports.
Please use the GitHub link above to report issues.
Forum rules
*******************************
Please be aware we are now using GitHub for issue tracking and feature requests.
- This section of the forum is now closed to new topics.

*******************************
Post Reply
magentawave
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2014 1:57 am

Handbrake not compressing w/ OSX 10.9.3 + more issues...

Post by magentawave »

Handbrake 0.9.9
OSX 10.9.3


Handbrake is doing weird stuff and I'm pretty sure it started after I updated OSX to 10.9.3. EDIT: I'm now using OSX 10.9.4

I can take a 15mb MP4 or M4A file and try compressing and within a few seconds it says its already done and the video is now only 10 seconds long for a video that should be 1 minute and 20 seconds long.

Regardless of what file I choose to compress, Handbrake keeps saying: "File already exists. Do you want to overwrite XXXX.mp4?"

I have cleared the Queue, closed and restarted Handbrake, renamed the file and even changed the extension from MP4 to M4V and I still have the same problem.

This is a bummer because I really need to compress a ton of video files. :(

Any ideas for how I can get Handbrake working again?

Thanks

HERE IS THE ACTIVITY LOG INFORMATION:

[18:22:41] hb_init: starting libhb thread
[18:22:41] macgui: Handbrake Version: 0.9.9 x86_64 (2013051800)
[18:22:41] hb_init: starting libhb thread
[18:22:41] hb_init: starting libhb thread
[18:22:41] macgui: hbInstances path to this instance: /Applications/HandBrake.app
[18:22:41] macgui: hbInstance found instance pidnum:37786 at path: /Applications/HandBrake.app
[18:22:41] macgui: hbInstance MATCH FOUND, our pidnum is:37786
[18:22:41] macgui: Pid for this instance:37786
[18:22:41] macgui: HBQueueController : My Pidnum is 37786
[18:23:01] macgui: trying to open video_ts folder (parent directory chosen)
[18:23:01] macgui: scanning titles with a duration of 10 seconds or more
[18:23:01] hb_scan: path=/Users/MBP17/Desktop/IC-50-SampleOfContent.mp4, title_index=0
libbluray/bdnav/index_parse.c:162: indx_parse(): error opening /Users/MBP17/Desktop/IC-50-SampleOfContent.mp4/BDMV/index.bdmv
libbluray/bdnav/index_parse.c:162: indx_parse(): error opening /Users/MBP17/Desktop/IC-50-SampleOfContent.mp4/BDMV/BACKUP/index.bdmv
libbluray/bluray.c:1725: nav_get_title_list(/Users/MBP17/Desktop/IC-50-SampleOfContent.mp4) failed (0x102911600)
[18:23:01] bd: not a bd - trying as a stream/file instead
libdvdnav: Using dvdnav version 4.1.3
libdvdread: Encrypted DVD support unavailable.
libdvdnav:DVDOpenFileUDF:UDFFindFile /VIDEO_TS/VIDEO_TS.IFO failed
libdvdnav:DVDOpenFileUDF:UDFFindFile /VIDEO_TS/VIDEO_TS.BUP failed
libdvdread: Can't open file VIDEO_TS.IFO.
libdvdnav: vm: failed to read VIDEO_TS.IFO
[18:23:01] dvd: not a dvd - trying as a stream/file instead
Input #0, mov,mp4,m4a,3gp,3g2,mj2, from '/Users/MBP17/Desktop/IC-50-SampleOfContent.mp4':
Metadata:
major_brand : mp42
minor_version : 0
compatible_brands: mp42isomavc1
creation_time : 2014-06-15 01:03:15
encoder : HandBrake 0.9.9 2013051800
Duration: 00:00:01.53, start: 0.000000, bitrate: 267 kb/s
Stream #0.0(und): Video: h264 (Main), yuv420p, 640x320, 232 kb/s, 15 fps, 15 tbr, 90k tbn, 180k tbc
Metadata:
creation_time : 2014-06-15 01:03:15
Stream #0.1(und): Audio: aac, 44100 Hz, stereo, fltp, 36 kb/s
Metadata:
creation_time : 2014-06-15 01:03:15
[18:23:02] scan: decoding previews for title 1
[18:23:02] scan: audio 0x1: aac, rate=44100Hz, bitrate=36443 Unknown (aac) (2.0 ch)
[18:23:02] scan: 10 previews, 640x320, 15.000 fps, autocrop = 0/0/0/0, aspect 2.00:1, PAR 1:1
[18:23:02] libhb: scan thread found 1 valid title(s)
[18:23:02] macgui: showNewScan: This is a new source item scan
[18:23:13] macgui: Rip: Pending queue count is 0
Last edited by magentawave on Wed Jul 16, 2014 7:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
s55
HandBrake Team
Posts: 9747
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 1:05 pm

Re: Handbrake not compressing w/ OSX 10.9.3 + more issues...

Post by s55 »

You've just provided a scan log. Try encoding, then provide the log.

magentawave
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2014 1:57 am

Re: Handbrake not compressing w/ OSX 10.9.3 + more issues...

Post by magentawave »

It won't encode. It just keeps saying regardless of which video file I try compressing: "File already exists. Do you want to overwrite XXXX.mp4?"

I tried nightly build Version 6214svn x86_64 and that worked fine for the one file I tried compressing it with. Today I tried compressing another video file and got the same "overwrite" message as before. So I replaced Version 6214svn x86_64 with the latest nightly build Version 6216svn x86_64 (2014062001) and the latest version is doing the same "overwrite" thing where I get the message and then its done in about two seconds which is impossible considering it is a 450mb file.

Got any ideas?

On the nightly build page there is a GUI and a CLI version. What am I supposed to do with the CLI version?

Thanks

Smithcraft
Veteran User
Posts: 2691
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 8:04 pm

Re: Handbrake not compressing w/ OSX 10.9.3 + more issues...

Post by Smithcraft »

magentawave wrote:So I replaced Version 6214svn x86_64 with the latest nightly build Version 6216svn x86_64 (2014062001) and the latest version is doing the same "overwrite" thing where I get the message and then its done in about two seconds which is impossible considering it is a 450mb file.

Got any ideas?
Post the encode log.

SC

TedJ
Veteran User
Posts: 5388
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2008 11:25 pm

Re: Handbrake not compressing w/ OSX 10.9.3 + more issues...

Post by TedJ »

You're ensuring you've set a unique output file name for each file?

magentawave
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2014 1:57 am

Re: Handbrake not compressing w/ OSX 10.9.3 + more issues...

Post by magentawave »

To answer your questions...

Handbrake worked the one time I tried it today which is weird considering the same version didn't work two days ago. I forgot to get the encode log before closing it this time though. Sorry about that.

Yes, I have created a unique output file name for each file.

MY QUESTIONS:

1) I shouldn't have to create a unique output file name if the output location is different than where the original video file is located, right?

2) Have you had any reports of Handbrake producing this "File already exists. Do you want to overwrite XXXX.mp4?" error and then working fine a couple days later?

3) On the nightly build page there is a GUI and a CLI version. What am I supposed to do with the CLI version?

4) I installed Handbrake on my Windows 7 virtual machine (Mac host) and when I try to choose an output location it won't let me. Its as if the output folder/location doesn't exist when I try to select it from within Handbrake yet I can clearly see it in the folder. Any thoughts about that?
Last edited by magentawave on Wed Jun 25, 2014 11:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
BradleyS
Moderator
Posts: 1814
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2007 12:16 pm

Re: Handbrake not compressing w/ OSX 10.9.3 + more issues...

Post by BradleyS »

I forgot to get the encode log before closing it this time though.
It's still on disk, please see: https://trac.handbrake.fr/wiki/ActivityLog
On the nightly build page there is a GUI and a CLI version. What am I supposed to do with the CLI version?
The CLI is the same HandBrake without a graphical interface, so Terminal. You can safely ignore this.

magentawave
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2014 1:57 am

Re: Handbrake not compressing w/ OSX 10.9.3 + more issues...

Post by magentawave »

Thanks but the log is gone now so I'm assuming it deletes itself when you delete the old version of Handbrake and install the latest nightly build which is what I did.
BradleyS wrote:
I forgot to get the encode log before closing it this time though.
It's still on disk, please see: https://trac.handbrake.fr/wiki/ActivityLog

magentawave
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2014 1:57 am

Re: Handbrake not compressing w/ OSX 10.9.3 + more issues...

Post by magentawave »

I tried to compress another MP4 today with the latest version of Handbrake for Mac 6229svn x86_64 (2014071501) and I'm still getting the "Overwrite" message just like before.

EDIT: I'm now using OSX 10.9.4

Totally changing the name of the MP4 and changing the presets still brings up the "Overwrite" or "Cancel" message after I click the "Start" button. I thought maybe something was wrong with my custom presets but I get the same "Overwrite" message when I try to use Handbrakes default "Normal" or "High Profile" settings too.

When I click the "Start" button, Handbrake is done with the job in a couple seconds but only because it shrunk a 2 minute long video into a 2 SECOND long video.

There is something seriously wrong with Handbrake for Mac because this problem has been going on for at least a month now. Is it because most of the developers don't work with Macs? If this can't be fixed, can you recommend another program I could use to compress videos on a Mac?

Thanks for looking at this and here is everything from the Activity Window:

[12:20:47] macgui: Handbrake Version: 6229svn x86_64 (2014071501)
[12:20:47] hb_init: starting libhb thread
[12:20:47] hb_init: starting libhb thread
[12:20:47] macgui: hbInstances path to this instance: /Applications/HandBrake.app
[12:20:47] macgui: hbInstance found instance pidnum: 23411 at path: /Applications/HandBrake.app
[12:20:47] macgui: hbInstance MATCH FOUND, our pidnum is: 23411
[12:20:47] macgui: Pid for this instance: 23411
[12:20:47] macgui: HBQueueController : My Pidnum is 23411
[12:21:18] macgui: trying to open video_ts folder (parent directory chosen)
[12:21:18] macgui: scanning titles with a duration of 10 seconds or more
[12:21:18] CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU T9300 @ 2.50GHz
[12:21:18] - logical processor count: 2
[12:21:18] OpenCL device #1: NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT
[12:21:18] - OpenCL version: 1.0
[12:21:18] - driver version: 8.24.15 310.90.9.05f01
[12:21:18] - device type: GPU
[12:21:18] - supported: no
[12:21:18] hb_scan: path=/Users/MBP17/Desktop/xxxxxx.mp4, title_index=0
libbluray/bdnav/index_parse.c:162: indx_parse(): error opening /Users/MBP17/Desktop/xxxxxx.mp4/BDMV/index.bdmv
libbluray/bdnav/index_parse.c:162: indx_parse(): error opening /Users/MBP17/Desktop/xxxxxx.mp4/BDMV/BACKUP/index.bdmv
libbluray/bluray.c:2182: nav_get_title_list(/Users/MBP17/Desktop/xxxxxx.mp4) failed
[12:21:18] bd: not a bd - trying as a stream/file instead
libdvdnav: Using dvdnav version 5.0.0
libdvdread: Encrypted DVD support unavailable.
libdvdread:DVDOpenFileUDF:UDFFindFile /VIDEO_TS/VIDEO_TS.IFO failed
libdvdread:DVDOpenFileUDF:UDFFindFile /VIDEO_TS/VIDEO_TS.BUP failed
libdvdread: Can't open file VIDEO_TS.IFO.
libdvdnav: vm: failed to read VIDEO_TS.IFO
[12:21:18] dvd: not a dvd - trying as a stream/file instead
Input #0, mov,mp4,m4a,3gp,3g2,mj2, from '/Users/MBP17/Desktop/xxxxxx.mp4':
Metadata:
major_brand : mp42
minor_version : 0
compatible_brands: mp42isom
creation_time : 2014-07-16 19:09:30
Duration: 00:01:51.16, start: 0.000000, bitrate: 1465 kb/s
Stream #0.0(und): Video: h264 (Main), yuv420p, 960x600, 1209 kb/s, 30 fps, 3k tbn, 60 tbc (default)
Metadata:
creation_time : 2014-07-16 19:09:30
Stream #0.1(und): Audio: aac, 44100 Hz, stereo, fltp, 251 kb/s (default)
Metadata:
creation_time : 2014-07-16 19:09:30
[12:21:18] scan: decoding previews for title 1
[12:21:18] scan: audio 0x1: aac, rate=44100Hz, bitrate=251734 Unknown (AAC) (2.0 ch)
[12:21:18] scan: 10 previews, 960x600, 30.000 fps, autocrop = 0/30/0/0, aspect 1.60:1, PAR 1:1
[12:21:18] libhb: scan thread found 1 valid title(s)
[12:21:18] macgui: showNewScan: This is a new source item scan
[12:21:23] macgui: Rip: Pending queue count is 0
[12:21:27] macgui: Rip: Pending queue count is 0
[12:21:30] macgui: getNextPendingQueueIndex next pending encode index is:0
[12:21:30] macgui: scanning specifically for title: 1
[12:21:30] CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU T9300 @ 2.50GHz
[12:21:30] - logical processor count: 2
[12:21:30] OpenCL device #1: NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT
[12:21:30] - OpenCL version: 1.0
[12:21:30] - driver version: 8.24.15 310.90.9.05f01
[12:21:30] - device type: GPU
[12:21:30] - supported: no
[12:21:30] hb_scan: path=/Users/MBP17/Desktop/xxxxxx.mp4, title_index=1
libbluray/bdnav/index_parse.c:162: indx_parse(): error opening /Users/MBP17/Desktop/xxxxxx.mp4/BDMV/index.bdmv
libbluray/bdnav/index_parse.c:162: indx_parse(): error opening /Users/MBP17/Desktop/xxxxxx.mp4/BDMV/BACKUP/index.bdmv
libbluray/bluray.c:2182: nav_get_title_list(/Users/MBP17/Desktop/xxxxxx.mp4) failed
[12:21:30] bd: not a bd - trying as a stream/file instead
libdvdnav: Using dvdnav version 5.0.0
libdvdread: Encrypted DVD support unavailable.
libdvdread:DVDOpenFileUDF:UDFFindFile /VIDEO_TS/VIDEO_TS.IFO failed
libdvdread:DVDOpenFileUDF:UDFFindFile /VIDEO_TS/VIDEO_TS.BUP failed
libdvdread: Can't open file VIDEO_TS.IFO.
libdvdnav: vm: failed to read VIDEO_TS.IFO
[12:21:30] dvd: not a dvd - trying as a stream/file instead
Input #0, mov,mp4,m4a,3gp,3g2,mj2, from '/Users/MBP17/Desktop/xxxxxx.mp4':
Metadata:
major_brand : mp42
minor_version : 0
compatible_brands: mp42isom
creation_time : 2014-07-16 19:09:30
Duration: 00:01:51.16, start: 0.000000, bitrate: 1465 kb/s
Stream #0.0(und): Video: h264 (Main), yuv420p, 960x600, 1209 kb/s, 30 fps, 3k tbn, 60 tbc (default)
Metadata:
creation_time : 2014-07-16 19:09:30
Stream #0.1(und): Audio: aac, 44100 Hz, stereo, fltp, 251 kb/s (default)
Metadata:
creation_time : 2014-07-16 19:09:30
[12:21:30] scan: decoding previews for title 1
[12:21:30] scan: audio 0x1: aac, rate=44100Hz, bitrate=251734 Unknown (AAC) (2.0 ch)
[12:21:30] scan: 10 previews, 960x600, 30.000 fps, autocrop = 0/30/0/0, aspect 1.60:1, PAR 1:1
[12:21:31] libhb: scan thread found 1 valid title(s)
[12:21:31] macgui: ScanDone state received from fQueueEncodeLibhb
[12:21:31] macgui: Preset: EBS-Settings
[12:21:31] macgui: processNewQueueEncode number of passes expected is: 1
[12:21:31] macgui: Start / Stop set to chapters
[12:21:31] macgui: prepareJob exiting
[12:21:31] 1 job(s) to process
[12:21:31] starting job
[12:21:31] sync: expecting 3335 video frames
[12:21:31] job configuration:
[12:21:31] * source
[12:21:31] + /Users/MBP17/Desktop/xxxxxx.mp4
[12:21:31] + title 1, chapter(s) 1 to 1
[12:21:31] + container: mov,mp4,m4a,3gp,3g2,mj2
[12:21:31] + data rate: 1465 kbps
[12:21:31] * destination
[12:21:31] + /Users/MBP17/Desktop/xxxxxx.mp4
[12:21:31] + container: MPEG-4 (libavformat)
[12:21:31] + optimized for HTTP streaming (fast start)
[12:21:31] * video track
[12:21:31] + decoder: h264
[12:21:31] + bitrate 1209 kbps
[12:21:31] + filters
[12:21:31] + Framerate Shaper (2:27000000:1800000)
[12:21:31] + frame rate: 30.000 fps -> peak rate limited to 15.000 fps
[12:21:31] + Crop and Scale (640:384:0:30:0:0)
[12:21:31] + source: 960 * 600, crop (0/30/0/0): 960 * 570, scale: 640 * 384
[12:21:31] + dimensions: 640 * 384, mod 16
[12:21:31] + encoder: H.264 (libx264)
[12:21:31] + preset: veryfast
[12:21:31] + profile: main
[12:21:31] + level: 4.0
[12:21:31] + quality: 25.00 (RF)
[12:21:31] * audio track 1
[12:21:31] + decoder: Unknown (AAC) (2.0 ch) (track 1, id 0x1)
[12:21:31] + bitrate: 251 kbps, samplerate: 44100 Hz
[12:21:31] + mixdown: Stereo
[12:21:31] + encoder: AAC (Apple AudioToolbox)
[12:21:31] + bitrate: 128 kbps, samplerate: 44100 Hz
[12:21:31] reader: first SCR 0 id 0x0 DTS -6000
[12:21:31] encx264: min-keyint: 15, keyint: 150
[12:21:31] encx264: encoding at constant RF 25.000000
[12:21:31] encx264: unparsed options: level=4.0:ref=1:8x8dct=0:weightp=1:subme=2:mixed-refs=0:trellis=0:vbv-bufsize=25000:vbv-maxrate=20000:rc-lookahead=10
x264 [info]: using cpu capabilities: MMX2 SSE2Fast SSSE3 SSE4.1 Cache64
x264 [info]: profile Main, level 4.0
[12:21:31] sync: first pts is 6000
[mov,mp4,m4a,3gp,3g2,mj2 @ 0x1020f3000] stream 1, offset 0x53d7a: partial file
[12:21:31] reader: done. 1 scr changes
[12:21:31] macgui: Queue reloaded
[12:21:31] work: average encoding speed for job is 0.000000 fps
[12:21:31] sync: got 60 frames, 3335 expected
[12:21:31] render: 32 frames output, 28 dropped and 0 duped for CFR/PFR
[12:21:31] render: lost time: 0 (0 frames)
[12:21:31] render: gained time: 0 (0 frames) (0 not accounted for)
[12:21:31] h264-decoder done: 60 frames, 0 decoder errors, 0 drops
x264 [info]: frame I:1 Avg QP:20.24 size: 29153
x264 [info]: frame P:8 Avg QP:27.17 size: 826
x264 [info]: frame B:23 Avg QP:31.43 size: 88
x264 [info]: consecutive B-frames: 3.1% 0.0% 9.4% 87.5%
x264 [info]: mb I I16..4: 50.3% 0.0% 49.7%
x264 [info]: mb P I16..4: 0.9% 0.0% 0.3% P16..4: 5.1% 1.8% 1.2% 0.0% 0.0% skip:90.7%
x264 [info]: mb B I16..4: 0.0% 0.0% 0.0% B16..8: 1.5% 0.4% 0.1% direct: 0.2% skip:97.9% L0:48.6% L1:32.4% BI:19.0%
x264 [info]: coded y,uvDC,uvAC intra: 48.4% 39.5% 33.8% inter: 0.8% 0.6% 0.1%
x264 [info]: i16 v,h,dc,p: 61% 38% 1% 0%
x264 [info]: i4 v,h,dc,ddl,ddr,vr,hd,vl,hu: 16% 55% 8% 2% 3% 3% 5% 3% 5%
x264 [info]: i8c dc,h,v,p: 54% 37% 7% 2%
x264 [info]: Weighted P-Frames: Y:0.0% UV:0.0%
x264 [info]: kb/s:141.70
[12:21:32] aac-decoder done: 0 frames, 0 decoder errors, 0 drops
[12:21:32] mux: track 0, 32 frames, 37749 bytes, 141.56 kbps, fifo 64
[12:21:32] mux: track 1, 67 frames, 14196 bytes, 53.23 kbps, fifo 128
[12:21:32] libhb: work result = 0
[12:21:32] macgui: incrementQueueItemDone there are no more pending encodes
[12:21:35] macgui: Queue reloaded

User avatar
s55
HandBrake Team
Posts: 9747
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 1:05 pm

Re: Handbrake not compressing w/ OSX 10.9.3 + more issues...

Post by s55 »

There is something seriously wrong with Handbrake for Mac because this problem has been going on for at least a month now. Is it because most of the developers don't work with Macs?
No-one else is reporting any problems even remotely similar to what you describe. The Mac nightly are used regularly by hundreds of people so it would seem this is unique to you.

You also blanked out the file names so we can't confirm if they matched before or after. If you search/replaced the filename with xxxxx.mp4, then you are infact trying to overwrite your input file which is not possible.

I've gone and checked the file overwrite warning and it works fine for me.


Typically if a file won't encode, they'll be something wrong with the source. (Which won't necessarily show up during playback). Sometimes remuxing it with a tool (i.e subler) can help.

If after that it won't encode, we really need a sample to investigate, otherwise there is nothing really we can do if it's not reproducible.

magentawave
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2014 1:57 am

Re: Handbrake not compressing w/ OSX 10.9.3 + more issues...

Post by magentawave »

Thats because xxxxx.mp4 IS the name of the video file. :wink: I didn't blank out the file names. The original file was named ABC-News-Clip.mp4 but since I kept getting the "Overwrite" thing I renamed it xxxxxx.mp4 but it still wanted to Overwrite. Changing the location of the files makes no difference too.

User avatar
Rodeo
HandBrake Team
Posts: 12468
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:55 pm

Re: Handbrake not compressing w/ OSX 10.9.3 + more issues...

Post by Rodeo »

magentawave wrote:Changing the location of the files makes no difference too.
So as long as the source and the destination are the same, it won't:
fail34.jpg
…you've got to find a parking space that's not occupied by your input file :P
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

magentawave
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2014 1:57 am

Re: Handbrake not compressing w/ OSX 10.9.3 + more issues...

Post by magentawave »

SOLVED! YES, THAT WAS THE PROBLEM! I was exporting the compressed file to the same location as the source. Thank you!

Uh, just for the heck of it... Since Handbrake asks if I want to overwrite the file, then how come Handbrake doesn't overwrite the file properly?

And since it can't, perhaps the message should say: "Sorry, but Handbrake won't overwrite files in the same location. Please change the destination."

That is a hilarious photo, by the way. :D
Rodeo wrote:
magentawave wrote:Changing the location of the files makes no difference too.
So as long as the source and the destination are the same, it won't:

…you've got to find a parking space that's not occupied by your input file :P

User avatar
Rodeo
HandBrake Team
Posts: 12468
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:55 pm

Re: Handbrake not compressing w/ OSX 10.9.3 + more issues...

Post by Rodeo »

magentawave wrote:SOLVED! YES, THAT WAS THE PROBLEM! I was exporting the compressed file to the same location as the source. Thank you!

Uh, just for the heck of it... Since Handbrake asks if I want to overwrite the file, then how come Handbrake doesn't overwrite the file properly?
No, it does overwrite it properly - that's what the warning is all about.
magentawave wrote:And since it can't, perhaps the message should say: "Sorry, but Handbrake won't overwrite files in the same location. Please change the destination."
The warning means: sorry, HandBrake will overwrite this file if you let it do so (as opposed to write to a temp file and move it when it's done - which is also unsafe, plenty of thing can go wrong during the encode and not all issues can be detected, thus the risk of losing the input source is still high) - please make sure you no longer need this file as e.g. you know, the source for this encode :P

magentawave
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2014 1:57 am

Re: Handbrake not compressing w/ OSX 10.9.3 + more issues...

Post by magentawave »

So you are saying that this is a safety feature built into Handbrake in order to keep the original file intact in case something goes wrong during compression? If so, then it still seems to me that since overwriting DESTROYS THE ORIGINAL FILE - the message should say:

"WARNING: Overwriting will destroy the original! Change the Destination location before proceeding!"

Or better yet, there should be no choice to "Overwrite" so it should say:

"Choose a different destination folder than the one where the original file is located!"

Do I understand this correctly?

User avatar
BradleyS
Moderator
Posts: 1814
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2007 12:16 pm

Re: Handbrake not compressing w/ OSX 10.9.3 + more issues...

Post by BradleyS »

My personal opinion is that it is not HandBrake's responsibility to educate people on how to use their computer. The current warning is common practice and seems sufficient to me except in cases where people click yes on everything without reading.

Many things about HandBrake can be improved with regard to usability, but having ventured into this area before I am all too familiar with the endless difficulty it creates... eventually one must bundle an operating system manual. ;)

The line has to be drawn somewhere, and I think the file system is a fine place. It is simply out of the scope of the project. There is no evidence that this is a widespread issue, so again I say the standard warning is sufficient.

magentawave
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2014 1:57 am

Re: Handbrake not compressing w/ OSX 10.9.3 + more issues...

Post by magentawave »

Its not an "issue" at all now that I know the source and destination must be different - thanks to Rodeo! :D I was just suggesting that a different phrase like "Overwriting will destroy the original file" might be a good idea since every computer program I can think of (Word, Powerpoint, etc. and a million others) overwrite the original file every time you hit the "save" button without destroying the original file.

Anyway, the problem was my fault and THANK YOU to everyone that participated here!
BradleyS wrote:My personal opinion is that it is not HandBrake's responsibility to educate people on how to use their computer. The current warning is common practice and seems sufficient to me except in cases where people click yes on everything without reading.

Many things about HandBrake can be improved with regard to usability, but having ventured into this area before I am all too familiar with the endless difficulty it creates... eventually one must bundle an operating system manual. ;)

The line has to be drawn somewhere, and I think the file system is a fine place. It is simply out of the scope of the project. There is no evidence that this is a widespread issue, so again I say the standard warning is sufficient.

Post Reply