Sony & ARccOS

Archive of historical bug reports.
Please use the GitHub link above to report issues.
Forum rules
*******************************
Please be aware we are now using GitHub for issue tracking and feature requests.
- This section of the forum is now closed to new topics.

*******************************
Post Reply
risck
Regular User
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 1:20 am

Sony & ARccOS

Post by risck »

By now I'm sure everyone has heard about Sony malfunctioning DVDs.... thanks to ARccOS... and while this may not be a bug in the purest sense I would just have to report in.

I just got a good deal on a Casino Royale DVD and my Apple TV arrived so the first thing I wanted to do is get Casino Royale on the Apple TV. However the the DVD is one of the trouble some ARccOS protected ones... and HandBrake dies on it... well I capture everything except the chapter 1... and I have three stand-alone DVD plays and they all have issues with ARccOS protection :(

Anyway I would love to see HandBrake, some how, identify these DVD's and just reject them.

deckeda
Regular User
Posts: 138
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 8:38 am

Post by deckeda »

OK, I'll take one for the team here.

1. Sony will supposedly replace your Casino Royale with a newer one that isn't so cranky. http://handbrake.m0k.org/forum/viewtopi ... light=sony

2. Handbrake not dealing with ARccOS, nor Ripguard, nor empty cells, nor fake VOBs and fake .ifo files aren't bugs.

3. Because of #2, your post is misplaced at best because you made a feature request.

4. Please don't post this in the Requests section ... Handbrake, if it ever was a great ripper, no longer is. The focus is elsewhere now, which is a good thing.

tagscuderia
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2007 10:49 pm

Casino Royale

Post by tagscuderia »

Just to follow this up...
I had encoded Casino Royale using the previous beta but decided to re-encode it (from the disc) in 0.8.5b1 to make use of the anamorphic setting for Quicktime. However I had a slight hiccup...the program closes after about 5 minutes - doesn't crash, just closes without completing the tasks. As such I only get the first 30 seconds or so with the audio 5 seconds ahead of itself.
The reason I said it was a follow up is that I do know that ARccOS is causing a lot of trouble and it could well be just that; the disc does play on my mac, dell and 2 dvd players. When I originally tried to use MactheRipper it was happy for the first 5 minutes or so before crapping out so the finger does point at ARccOS!
I'm posting on the premise that it is a beta build, not to moan.
Good to see development speeding along!

User avatar
s55
HandBrake Team
Posts: 9774
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 1:05 pm

Post by s55 »

Handbrake is NOT a ripper. Period.
It may have ripping capability due to its past but its something that is no longer supported. Its simply been left in because it is occasionally useful.

There is Basic CSS support and thats it. Its not going to get upgraded as thats not the point in Handbrake. There are 3rd party apps which do a great job of it. No reason then to add it to handbrake. Keeping something like that up to date just drains the resources of the team.

tagscuderia
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2007 10:49 pm

Post by tagscuderia »

Ahh the eloquence of the world and all its wonders, makes ye proud.

User avatar
s55
HandBrake Team
Posts: 9774
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 1:05 pm

Post by s55 »

Life would be a damn sight easier if Sony would just Sod off with its sodden protections that prevent you from actually playing the DVD you brought in your SONY dvd player :/ Meh, gets me worked up

Post Reply