[Fixed] HB Won't Save My Audio Settings w/ Custom Presets

Archive of historical bug reports.
Please use the GitHub link above to report issues.
Forum rules
*******************************

Please be aware we are now using GitHub for all issue tracking and feature requests. This forum will be locked in the near future.

*******************************
troryANCAS
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2015 3:14 pm

[Fixed] HB Won't Save My Audio Settings w/ Custom Presets

Post by troryANCAS » Wed Mar 18, 2015 3:19 pm

I've just noticed that HandBrake 0.10.1 x86_64 (2015030800) won't save my audio settings when I create custom presets.

How to reproduce this bug:
• select Normal preset
• change audio settings in the Audio tab
• create a new custom preset by clicking the + symbol in the presets drawer
• check the newly created preset: the audio settings are back to default
• get mad about it because batch encoding a video this way is a [Censored]

Thank you for your time.

User avatar
JohnAStebbins
HandBrake Team
Posts: 5007
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 7:21 pm

Re: HB Won't Save My Audio Settings w/ Custom Presets

Post by JohnAStebbins » Wed Mar 18, 2015 3:41 pm

The audio settings that are saved in the preset are now in a new and improved "Audio Config" pane. There is a button in the Windows GUI in the upper right of the audio pane to switch to the audio config pane.

The new audio config settings give you much more flexibility over how automatic selection of audio tracks is done when a new source is scanned.

troryANCAS
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2015 3:14 pm

Re: HB Won't Save My Audio Settings w/ Custom Presets

Post by troryANCAS » Wed Mar 18, 2015 4:58 pm

I don't see that button anywhere. Is it possible that it's either in another place or it doesn't exist in the Mac version?

There is however a Configure Defaults… button in the Audio tab, but I fail to see how that helps me with my problem. You see, I simply want to save different audio settings for different video presets. HandBrake used to be able to do exactly that, smh.

mduell
Veteran User
Posts: 5589
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:54 pm

Re: HB Won't Save My Audio Settings w/ Custom Presets

Post by mduell » Wed Mar 18, 2015 5:22 pm

Configure defaults is the button John is referring to. The defaults get saved in the preset, so you can have different settings in each preset.

The audio configuration became more capable and sophisticated with a variety of autopassthrough and fallback options, making the former defaults guessing for presets insufficient and error prone.

troryANCAS
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2015 3:14 pm

Re: HB Won't Save My Audio Settings w/ Custom Presets

Post by troryANCAS » Sun Apr 09, 2017 7:55 pm

I still don't quite understand how this is supposed to work. I've tried a multitude if not ALL variations to save my audio settings, but it still won't stick. The bitrate always jumps back to 64 no matter what. Can somebody PLEASE tell me step by step what to do.

What bugs me the most is that this used to work before the last couple of updates just fine. I TRULY don't understand why this had to be changed …

mduell
Veteran User
Posts: 5589
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:54 pm

Re: HB Won't Save My Audio Settings w/ Custom Presets

Post by mduell » Sun Apr 09, 2017 9:36 pm

Configure defaults for audio, then save your preset. You were told to do this, and ignored it for some inexplicable reason.

The old behavior may have worked for your simple use case, but I've already explained why the change was made.

GerardM
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2017 10:12 pm

Re: HB Won't Save My Audio Settings w/ Custom Presets

Post by GerardM » Thu Apr 13, 2017 10:24 pm

Trory, you're not alone,
an old veterans was told it was the case, and ignored it for some inexplicable reason...
I'm also on a Mac, having been using HB for many years now, and I also discovered this i@#&é"# ssue with the newest releases.
I've tried everything I could imagine from the GUI, then tried editing directly the json preset file..
audio bitrate is properly reported in the json, but for some reason, it's totally ignored (or overiden ??) by HB..
Sorry mduell, that's it. if the app ignores the parameteres in the file, the GUI, nor the user are not the cause ;-)

User avatar
Ritsuka
HandBrake Team
Posts: 924
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 11:29 am

Re: HB Won't Save My Audio Settings w/ Custom Presets

Post by Ritsuka » Fri Apr 14, 2017 6:11 am

It should be fixed in the nightly builds. Please try one.
( https://github.com/HandBrake/HandBrake/ ... ee4fbea096 )

GerardM
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2017 10:12 pm

Re: HB Won't Save My Audio Settings w/ Custom Presets

Post by GerardM » Fri Apr 14, 2017 12:10 pm

Thanks for your work !
Unfortunately, the app crashes...
I'll wait further eupdates..

rollin_eng
Veteran User
Posts: 2288
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 11:06 pm

Re: HB Won't Save My Audio Settings w/ Custom Presets

Post by rollin_eng » Fri Apr 14, 2017 12:30 pm

GerardM wrote:
Fri Apr 14, 2017 12:10 pm
Thanks for your work !
Unfortunately, the app crashes...
I'll wait further eupdates..
Crashes how and when?

GerardM
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2017 10:12 pm

Re: HB Won't Save My Audio Settings w/ Custom Presets

Post by GerardM » Fri Apr 14, 2017 6:18 pm

it crashes at launch. unable to start the app
Just in case, OSX10.8.3

rollin_eng
Veteran User
Posts: 2288
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 11:06 pm

Re: HB Won't Save My Audio Settings w/ Custom Presets

Post by rollin_eng » Fri Apr 14, 2017 6:21 pm

Does it crash or does it not start?

Are there any messages?

GerardM
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2017 10:12 pm

Re: HB Won't Save My Audio Settings w/ Custom Presets

Post by GerardM » Fri Apr 14, 2017 9:35 pm

crash while starting


Crashed Thread: 0 Dispatch queue: com.apple.main-thread

Exception Type: EXC_BAD_ACCESS (SIGSEGV)
Exception Codes: KERN_INVALID_ADDRESS at 0x0000000000000000

troryANCAS
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2015 3:14 pm

Re: HB Won't Save My Audio Settings w/ Custom Presets

Post by troryANCAS » Wed Apr 19, 2017 12:08 pm

GerardM wrote:
Thu Apr 13, 2017 10:24 pm
Trory, you're not alone,
an old veterans was told it was the case, and ignored it for some inexplicable reason...
I'm also on a Mac, having been using HB for many years now, and I also discovered this i@#&é"# ssue with the newest releases.
I've tried everything I could imagine from the GUI, then tried editing directly the json preset file..
audio bitrate is properly reported in the json, but for some reason, it's totally ignored (or overiden ??) by HB..
Sorry mduell, that's it. if the app ignores the parameteres in the file, the GUI, nor the user are not the cause ;-)
Finally someone who understands my frustration, especially when some veterans suggest that I'm ignoring instructions. THANK YOU.

And as an update: Even with the new update (Version 1.0.7 (2017040900)), it still doesn't work—the bitrate for AAC Dolby Surround 44.1 128 kbps still reverts to 64 kbps.

If people still don't believe me, please let me know and I will take the time to screenshot every step I take to prove it.

User avatar
Ritsuka
HandBrake Team
Posts: 924
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 11:29 am

Re: HB Won't Save My Audio Settings w/ Custom Presets

Post by Ritsuka » Wed Apr 19, 2017 12:30 pm

It has been fixed in the nightly builds. Not in the official release yet.

troryANCAS
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2015 3:14 pm

Re: HB Won't Save My Audio Settings w/ Custom Presets

Post by troryANCAS » Wed Apr 19, 2017 12:35 pm

Ritsuka wrote:
Wed Apr 19, 2017 12:30 pm
It has been fixed in the nightly builds. Not in the official release yet.
I see. I'm looking forward to that update, then. Thank you for the heads-up, and for (hopefully) fixing this issue.

User avatar
Ritsuka
HandBrake Team
Posts: 924
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 11:29 am

Re: HB Won't Save My Audio Settings w/ Custom Presets

Post by Ritsuka » Wed Apr 19, 2017 12:43 pm

You can just download a nightly build right now ;)

GerardM
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2017 10:12 pm

Re: HB Won't Save My Audio Settings w/ Custom Presets

Post by GerardM » Thu Apr 20, 2017 5:35 pm

Unfortunately, it still crashes at launch.. :-(

Process: HandBrake [2131]
Path: /Applications/HandBrake.app/Contents/MacOS/HandBrake
Identifier: fr.handbrake.HandBrake
Version: 20170419172723-1cbd2f5-master (2017042001)
Code Type: X86-64 (Native)
Parent Process: launchd [187]
User ID: 501

Date/Time: 2017-04-20 19:31:24.237 +0200
OS Version: Mac OS X 10.8.4 (12E55)
Report Version: 10

Interval Since Last Report: 3335091 sec
Crashes Since Last Report: 136
Per-App Interval Since Last Report: 6 sec
Per-App Crashes Since Last Report: 1
Anonymous UUID: 51EF4345-13C9-3FA4-F287-8804C2165826

Crashed Thread: 0 Dispatch queue: com.apple.main-thread

Exception Type: EXC_BAD_ACCESS (SIGSEGV)
Exception Codes: KERN_INVALID_ADDRESS at 0x0000000000000000

VM Regions Near 0:
-->
__TEXT 000000010500c000-0000000105067000 [ 364K] r-x/rwx SM=COW /Applications/HandBrake.app/Contents/MacOS/HandBrake

Thread 0 Crashed:: Dispatch queue: com.apple.main-thread
0 fr.handbrake.HandBrakeKit 0x00000001051e776d -[HBDistributedArray reload] + 275
1 fr.handbrake.HandBrakeKit 0x00000001051e72ac -[HBDistributedArray initWithURL:class:] + 837
2 fr.handbrake.HandBrake 0x0000000105028b98 -[HBQueueController initWithURL:] + 753
3 fr.handbrake.HandBrake 0x0000000105034a36 -[HBAppDelegate init] + 489
4 com.apple.AppKit 0x00007fff934bfdea -[NSCustomObject nibInstantiate] + 382
5 com.apple.AppKit 0x00007fff9349f652 -[NSIBObjectData instantiateObject:] + 311
6 com.apple.AppKit 0x00007fff9349edf7 -[NSIBObjectData nibInstantiateWithOwner:topLevelObjects:] + 337
7 com.apple.AppKit 0x00007fff9347e11d loadNib + 317
8 com.apple.AppKit 0x00007fff9347d649 +[NSBundle(NSNibLoading) _loadNibFile:nameTable:withZone:ownerBundle:] + 219
9 com.apple.AppKit 0x00007fff9347d47e -[NSBundle(NSNibLoading) loadNibNamed:owner:topLevelObjects:] + 200
10 com.apple.AppKit 0x00007fff9347d25e +[NSBundle(NSNibLoading) loadNibNamed:owner:] + 360
11 com.apple.AppKit 0x00007fff934799ff NSApplicationMain + 398
12 fr.handbrake.HandBrake 0x000000010500e9ff main + 113
13 fr.handbrake.HandBrake 0x000000010500e0b0 start + 52

Woodstock
Veteran User
Posts: 2053
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 6:39 am

Re: HB Won't Save My Audio Settings w/ Custom Presets

Post by Woodstock » Thu Apr 20, 2017 7:15 pm

Could this be a damaged handbrake queue file causing the crash on start-up?

GerardM
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2017 10:12 pm

Re: HB Won't Save My Audio Settings w/ Custom Presets

Post by GerardM » Thu Apr 20, 2017 9:27 pm

Would be strange as it happens only with these nightly builds. Restarting the standard app is fine...

User avatar
Ritsuka
HandBrake Team
Posts: 924
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 11:29 am

Re: HB Won't Save My Audio Settings w/ Custom Presets

Post by Ritsuka » Fri Apr 21, 2017 7:22 am

Yes there is a crash that happens only on 10.8 in the nightly builds, I'll try to fix it soon.

GerardM
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2017 10:12 pm

Re: HB Won't Save My Audio Settings w/ Custom Presets

Post by GerardM » Fri Apr 21, 2017 9:04 am

Many thanks Ritsuka .. no stress, the previous version still works ;-)

ckronengold
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 8:31 am

Re: [Fixed] HB Won't Save My Audio Settings w/ Custom Presets

Post by ckronengold » Wed Apr 26, 2017 1:47 am

I'm having the same problem with the nightly builds. I set up a default using both the "configure defaults" button as well as the traditional Audio tab. Neither are being saved.

If I choose a different preset and then switch back to mine, the audio settings are gone. Even if I hit "restore defaults" it still only shows the AAC/160 setting.

I was using the previous 1.x build without an issue. Reinstalled windows and reinstalled HB and can't get it to save my presets.

User avatar
Rodeo
HandBrake Team
Posts: 11641
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:55 pm

Re: [Fixed] HB Won't Save My Audio Settings w/ Custom Presets

Post by Rodeo » Wed Apr 26, 2017 4:12 am

Well, you need to save the changes to your preset (by either selecting "save preset" if your GUI has such a facility, or creating a new preset after making the changes). We don't autosave presets, that would be a nightmare to use and/or support…

ckronengold
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 8:31 am

Re: [Fixed] HB Won't Save My Audio Settings w/ Custom Presets

Post by ckronengold » Wed Apr 26, 2017 5:23 pm

Is that somehow different than "Update Selected Preset?"

Nobody is asking for an autosave feature. Just an acknowledgment that this is an actual - if rare - bug that is occurring.

I have created and tried to update 4 user presets. None of which are saving. When I choose "Update" I get the confirmation that my preset has been updated. When I switch to a different preset and then back, the changes are gone.

I'm finding that I need to configure the default AND match it in the Audio tab for it to save properly. Seems different than before.

Post Reply