Nightly won't start with Framework 5

HandBrake for Windows support
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
Post Reply
Steeltooth493
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2021 8:42 am

Nightly won't start with Framework 5

Post by Steeltooth493 »

Description of problem or question:

The stable version of Handbrake runs fine for me, but I wanted to use the nightly version because I want to get HDR10 for 4K content for the first time. Both the regular and SafeMode exe versions give me the same error. After installing Handbrake it asks me to install .net Framework 5 and gives a link to do so. I do this and install it, but it does not detect or find Framework 5 and does not allow me to load Handbrake and start it as a result. How do I fix this?


Steps to reproduce the problem (If Applicable):

Attempt to install the exe versions of the latest nightly.


HandBrake version (e.g., 1.0.0):

Handbrake Nightly-20210611-7086ec31e_x86_64


Operating system and version (e.g., Ubuntu 16.04 LTS, macOS 10.13 High Sierra, Windows 10 Creators Update):

Windows 10 21H1


HandBrake Activity Log ***required*** (see How-to get an activity log)

Code: Select all

Please replace this text with the contents of your log file between the two code tags - OR -  provide a pastebin URL in place of these 3 lines.
If you are unable to do so, please state why so we can help you.
I am unable to create a log file because handbrake nightly will not start.
User avatar
s55
HandBrake Team
Posts: 10009
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 1:05 pm

Re: Nightly won't start with Framework 5

Post by s55 »

You need to make sure you have the Desktop Runtime version installed. (There are a couple different packs)
Steeltooth493
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2021 8:42 am

Re: Nightly won't start with Framework 5

Post by Steeltooth493 »

And how do I check for that and install it if it is missing?
User avatar
s55
HandBrake Team
Posts: 10009
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 1:05 pm

Re: Nightly won't start with Framework 5

Post by s55 »

Steeltooth493
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2021 8:42 am

Re: Nightly won't start with Framework 5

Post by Steeltooth493 »

Got it working now, thank you!
metatron2012
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2021 4:09 pm

Re: Nightly won't start with Framework 5

Post by metatron2012 »

hi im Walter, im alreadey have Framework 5.08 and HandB still dont start claming for that, help
rollin_eng
Veteran User
Posts: 4019
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 11:06 pm

Re: Nightly won't start with Framework 5

Post by rollin_eng »

metatron2012 wrote: Tue Jul 20, 2021 4:10 pm hi im Walter, im alreadey have Framework 5.08 and HandB still dont start claming for that, help
Try this:

https://dotnet.microsoft.com/download/d ... -installer
metatron2012
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2021 4:09 pm

Re: Nightly won't start with Framework 5

Post by metatron2012 »

rollin_eng wrote: Tue Jul 20, 2021 4:59 pm
metatron2012 wrote: Tue Jul 20, 2021 4:10 pm hi im Walter, im alreadey have Framework 5.08 and HandB still dont start claming for that, help
Try this:

https://dotnet.microsoft.com/download/d ... -installer
Im already installer these and dont work thanks anyware
User avatar
s55
HandBrake Team
Posts: 10009
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 1:05 pm

Re: Nightly won't start with Framework 5

Post by s55 »

You need the "Desktop Runtime". The vanilla "Runtime" is not sufficient.
rollin_eng
Veteran User
Posts: 4019
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 11:06 pm

Re: Nightly won't start with Framework 5

Post by rollin_eng »

s55 wrote: Tue Jul 20, 2021 5:31 pm You need the "Desktop Runtime". The vanilla "Runtime" is not sufficient.
Maybe a sticky with a link to point people to?
metatron2012
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2021 4:09 pm

Re: Nightly won't start with Framework 5

Post by metatron2012 »

rollin_eng wrote: Tue Jul 20, 2021 5:40 pm
s55 wrote: Tue Jul 20, 2021 5:31 pm You need the "Desktop Runtime". The vanilla "Runtime" is not sufficient.
Maybe a sticky with a link to point people to?
Thank you very much yes the desktop version works great

https://download.visualstudio.microsoft ... in-x64.exe
Post Reply