Handbrake application slow to load

HandBrake for Windows support
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
Post Reply
Djinn252
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2021 2:17 pm

Handbrake application slow to load

Post by Djinn252 »

Description of problem or question:
The Handbrake application is loading slowly. Nothing to do with conversion; I'm talking about the time between when I click the application icon, and the interface displaying on the screen. It typically takes between 17 and 20 seconds. Handbrake used to load up very quickly, and I can't pinpoint any change that would have slowed it down.



Steps to reproduce the problem (If Applicable):
Starting the application, whether through the Start button, or clicking a shortcut.



HandBrake version (e.g., 1.0.0):

1.3.3 (2020061300)


Operating system and version (e.g., Ubuntu 16.04 LTS, macOS 10.13 High Sierra, Windows 10 Creators Update):

Windows 10 (64-bit), fully updated


HandBrake Activity Log ***required*** (see How-to get an activity log)

Conversion code is not relevant, so I'm posting the header only.

HandBrake 1.3.3 (2020061300)
OS: Microsoft Windows NT 10.0.19042.0
CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-8700K CPU @ 3.70GHz
Ram: 32571 MB,
GPU Information:
Intel(R) UHD Graphics 630 - 27.20.100.8854
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 - 27.21.14.6647
Screen: 1920x1080
Temp Dir: C:\Users\(username)\AppData\Local\Temp\
Install Dir: C:\Program Files\HandBrake
Data Dir: C:\Users\(username)\AppData\Roaming\HandBrake
rollin_eng
Veteran User
Posts: 4019
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 11:06 pm

Re: Handbrake application slow to load

Post by rollin_eng »

Are other applications slow to load?

Have you made any hardware changes recently?

Have you run any Windows updates recently?

Can you try the nightly build?
Djinn252
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2021 2:17 pm

Re: Handbrake application slow to load

Post by Djinn252 »

(Other applications) - No issues; the problem is limited to Handbrake.

(Recent hardware changes) - None

(Recent Windows updates) - Whatever Microsoft automatically pushes out to my machine.

(Can you try the nightly build?) - Not a bad idea; I'll give it a shot. Do I need to back up my profiles first?
Woodstock
Veteran User
Posts: 4179
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 6:39 am

Re: Handbrake application slow to load

Post by Woodstock »

The nightly builds will set themselves up separate from the release version, but it ALWAYS a good idea to back up your favorite profiles, if they're significantly different from standard. Just know that the default presets in the nightly builds are different from the release, as things get tweaked for better performance.

That said, you might want to clear your Most Recently Used (MRU) cache, if you recently loaded a remote resource that isn't available now.
Djinn252
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2021 2:17 pm

Re: Handbrake application slow to load

Post by Djinn252 »

Update: I just downloaded and ran the latest Handbrake nightly build - and I encountered the same thing. It loaded without errors. But it was roughly 15 seconds between when I ran it, and when the interface appeared on screen.

Regarding the MRU cache - I could use a little guidance here. Where does one go to clear the MRU cache?

Many thanks.
Post Reply