Fails on UHD (av1) files

HandBrake for Windows support
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
Post Reply
grguthrie
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2021 12:42 pm

Fails on UHD (av1) files

Post by grguthrie »

I have some UHD (4K) downloaded files which are :
1 media stream AV1
MPEG-4 Base media
3840*2026

I opened it in Handbrake, and set the in/out files names, and output container defaults to mp4.
but on start or queue, it reports:
"You must first scan a source and setup your job before adding to the queue."
(or starting a job)

Is it having trouble scanning the AV1 format?
??
rollin_eng
Veteran User
Posts: 3912
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 11:06 pm

Re: Fails on UHD (av1) files

Post by rollin_eng »

Could you please post your HB logs, instructions can be found here:

https://handbrake.fr/docs/en/latest/hel ... y-log.html
grguthrie
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2021 12:42 pm

Re: Fails on UHD (av1) files

Post by grguthrie »

Ok; thanks.
I read the log - but was not clear on why it gave that error. No doubt a user error.
This is an mp4 file, but it seems to think it is a BD file.

https://pastebin.com/jxurrYXK
rollin_eng
Veteran User
Posts: 3912
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 11:06 pm

Re: Fails on UHD (av1) files

Post by rollin_eng »

Can you try a nightly build.

https://handbrake.fr/nightly.php
grguthrie
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2021 12:42 pm

Re: Fails on UHD (av1) files

Post by grguthrie »

Very good - thank you.
Yes, it works. But - it converts the original AV1 3840*2026 into a m4v 1920x1080 - how can I keep the UHD resolution?
I had chosen format of mp4, but it gave the result of m4v - not sure what is happening there.
grguthrie
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2021 12:42 pm

Re: Fails on UHD (av1) files

Post by grguthrie »

AH - I see some presets are UHD - I guess I have to choose one of those, even though I am not really targeting that device (e.g. Fire-TV UHD), I am going to play via Plex to a Sony TV.
mduell
Veteran User
Posts: 7431
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:54 pm

Re: Fails on UHD (av1) files

Post by mduell »

You can choose any preset with a 4K or higher resolution target, a preset with no resolution target, or adjust the resolution target and save your own preset.
grguthrie
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2021 12:42 pm

Re: Fails on UHD (av1) files

Post by grguthrie »

Thank you. I found also that my version was not current, and using the current version - works fine. Sorry for the issue - and thank you.
Post Reply