Intel QuickSync/Nvidia NVENC Encoders not selectable

HandBrake for Windows support
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
Post Reply
rtor
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2021 11:55 am

Intel QuickSync/Nvidia NVENC Encoders not selectable

Post by rtor »

Greetings and Salutations!
My first post here on the forum.

Description of problem or question:
Intel QuickSync/Nvidia NVENC Encoders are for some reason not selectable under Preferences->Video->Encoding.
This means I cannot select these HW encoding codecs for encoding videos.
It is a newly built PC with new hardware that I think should support it.

- Intel 10900K Processor
- 32GB RAM
- Nvidia RTX 2070 Super
- Nvidia 461.40 Drivers
- Windows 10 Home 64bit version 2H2

Steps to reproduce the problem (If Applicable):
The problem is constant, the HW encoding selections are just not clickable.
Everything else in Handbrake works great.
Every video recode I have tried works fine, I just cannot enable any HW encoding.
I have tried upgrading NVidia drivers to the latest.
I have tried re-installing the latest Handbrake and reboot several times.

HandBrake version (e.g., 1.0.0):
Handbrake 1.3.3 (2020061300)

Operating system and version (e.g., Ubuntu 16.04 LTS, macOS 10.13 High Sierra, Windows 10 Creators Update):
Windows 10 Home 64bit version 2H2.
All latest Windows updates applied.

HandBrake Activity Log ***required***
HandBrake 1.3.3 (2020061300)
OS: Microsoft Windows NT 10.0.19042.0
CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i9-10900K CPU @ 3.70GHz
Ram: 32663 MB,
GPU Information:
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER - 27.21.14.6140
Screen: 2560x1600
Temp Dir: C:\Users\Gollum\AppData\Local\Temp\
Install Dir: C:\Program Files\HandBrake
Data Dir: C:\Users\Gollum\AppData\Roaming\HandBrake

Questions
- Does anyone know what could be causing this?
- Is there a way to work around it?
User avatar
s55
HandBrake Team
Posts: 9945
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 1:05 pm

Re: Intel QuickSync/Nvidia NVENC Encoders not selectable

Post by s55 »

1. Intel QuickSync requires Intel onboard graphics to be enabled. It's not on your system. Likely disabled in the BIOS.
2. For nvenc, make sure it's enabled in preferences -> video.
rtor
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2021 11:55 am

Re: Intel QuickSync/Nvidia NVENC Encoders not selectable

Post by rtor »

Many thanks for the quick reply!

"2. For nvenc, make sure it's enabled in preferences -> video."
This is precisely what I have a problem with, the Nvidia NVENC option in "preferences -> video" cannot be selected.

The RTX 2070 Super works perfectly for all other things (games/programs), so I don't think it's the video card.
User avatar
s55
HandBrake Team
Posts: 9945
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 1:05 pm

Re: Intel QuickSync/Nvidia NVENC Encoders not selectable

Post by s55 »

Assuming they've not released another busted driver (they do from time to time), the only other thing I can think of is you got a "SafeMode" version from Github or some site other than HandBrake.fr where it's not compiled with nvenc support.
rtor
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2021 11:55 am

Re: Intel QuickSync/Nvidia NVENC Encoders not selectable

Post by rtor »

That was it, I must have got it from Github.
I just downloaded it from the frontpage of HandBrake.fr and re-installed it.
Now the option for Nvidia NVENC option is selectable.
Thank you so much!!!
PippaChapman
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2021 12:22 pm

Re: Intel QuickSync/Nvidia NVENC Encoders not selectable

Post by PippaChapman »

lol. Yep, it was easy :D Was the same problem. Big thx for helping.
Post Reply