How to add band at the left and right of a video

HandBrake for Windows support
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
Post Reply
ChPr
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2020 8:41 am

How to add band at the left and right of a video

Post by ChPr »

Hello everybody
Description of problem or question:

My question is in the title

Steps to reproduce the problem (If Applicable):

My video source is a MP4 file with width = 352 and heigh = 640. My goal is to obtain a file of width = 1164 and heigh = 640 by adding band of 262 pixels on each side of the original video.

I have tried a lot of combinations of the parameters in the "Dimensions" tab. I have neither been able to get a result.

The results I got was either unreadable file or a distorted image (very enlarged) but without sideband

HandBrake version (e.g., 1.0.0):

1.3.3

Operating system and version (e.g., Ubuntu 16.04 LTS, macOS 10.13 High Sierra, Windows 10 Creators Update):

Windows 10

HandBrake Activity Log ***required*** (see How-to get an activity log)

Code: Select all

Please replace this text with the contents of your log file between the two code tags - OR -  provide a pastebin URL in place of these 3 lines.
If you are unable to do so, please state why so we can help you.
Please, if what I want to do is possible, could you tell me how to proceed.

Best regard.

Pierre.
User avatar
Ritsuka
HandBrake Team
Posts: 1172
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 11:29 am

Re: How to add band at the left and right of a video

Post by Ritsuka »

This is not possible with the GUI, but you can use the cli version and the padding filter.
HandBrake 1.4 will include a way to configure the padding filter in the GUI too.
ChPr
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2020 8:41 am

Re: How to add band at the left and right of a video

Post by ChPr »

Ritsuka wrote: Tue Sep 29, 2020 10:28 am This is not possible with the GUI, but you can use the cli version and the padding filter.
HandBrake 1.4 will include a way to configure the padding filter in the GUI too.
Thank you for this answer. An idea of the release date for the version 1.4 ?

Sincerely.

Pierre
Post Reply