pcm sound format?

HandBrake for Windows support
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
Post Reply
unclebubbies
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 2:01 pm

pcm sound format?

Post by unclebubbies »

Description of problem or question:
Trying to back up a blu ray to an MKV file. The disc only has pcm sound. What sound directive do I use to passthrough this?



Steps to reproduce the problem (If Applicable):




HandBrake version (e.g., 1.0.0):

I'm using 1.3.3


Operating system and version (e.g., Ubuntu 16.04 LTS, macOS 10.13 High Sierra, Windows 10 Creators Update):

Window's 10


HandBrake Activity Log ***required*** (see How-to get an activity log)

Code: Select all

Please replace this text with the contents of your log file between the two code tags - OR -  provide a pastebin URL in place of these 3 lines.
If you are unable to do so, please state why so we can help you.
Silent_Strider
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2019 9:31 pm

Re: pcm sound format?

Post by Silent_Strider »

You cannot. Not with Handbrake. If you want to preserve PCM for whatever reason (it's uncompressed audio!) you have to mux it into the new video file yourself.
User avatar
Rodeo
HandBrake Team
Posts: 12622
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:55 pm

Re: pcm sound format?

Post by Rodeo »

FLAC encoder is your best bet if you want to stick with a HandBrake-only workflow.
musicvid
Veteran User
Posts: 3764
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2009 1:19 am

Re: pcm sound format?

Post by musicvid »

You can rip your BluRay with MakeMKV. Then you can save your audio with MKVExtract.
Post Reply