Subtiltles only on secondary audio track.

HandBrake for Windows support
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
Post Reply
Xzomo
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2020 8:48 pm

Subtiltles only on secondary audio track.

Post by Xzomo »

Description of problem or question:

Hi

I have first ripped one of my blu-rays with MakeMKV (inkluding alla audio and subtitles on the blu-ray)
Then with Handbrake im adding Swedish as primary audio (for my kids) and English as secondary (for me)
I then want to add Swedish subtitles but only having them show when i use English Audio, not Swedish (offcourse)

How do i go about doing this ?

Best regards
Michael



Steps to reproduce the problem (If Applicable):




HandBrake version (e.g., 1.0.0):

1.3.3 (2020061300)


Operating system and version (e.g., Ubuntu 16.04 LTS, macOS 10.13 High Sierra, Windows 10 Creators Update):

Windows 10 (2004)


HandBrake Activity Log ***required*** (see How-to get an activity log)

Code: Select all

Please replace this text with the contents of your log file between the two code tags - OR -  provide a pastebin URL in place of these 3 lines.
If you are unable to do so, please state why so we can help you.
Woodstock
Veteran User
Posts: 3753
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 6:39 am

Re: Subtiltles only on secondary audio track.

Post by Woodstock »

Depends on your source and your chosen output format. MP4? You do it with two separate files, because the format does not support switchable BD subtitles.

MKV format, you have to choose which which tracks to insert in which order. Not all players support matched languages for audio/subtitles, though.
Xzomo
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2020 8:48 pm

Re: Subtiltles only on secondary audio track.

Post by Xzomo »

Hi

Thank you.
Okey how do i go about then with "MKV" format ?
I guess i need to use the "Selection Behavior" under "Subtitles" tab, but i have no idee how to only have swedish text on the secondary English Audio.
Greatefull for solution or some guide :)

Besta regards
Michael
Woodstock
Veteran User
Posts: 3753
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 6:39 am

Re: Subtiltles only on secondary audio track.

Post by Woodstock »

Selecting MKV is the easy part - you can either select one of the "MKV" presets, or if you have a preset you like now that outputs MP4 files, select the output type to "MKV" on the main tab.

Configuring subtitles will be difficult using just selection behavior. I do it manually (90+% of my stuff is Japanese primary audio plus an English dub most of the time). Without knowing the layout of a typical disk (the logs show that as part of the scan), it's hard to make specific recommendations.
Post Reply