Upscaling 1916 x 1076 to 1920 to 1080

HandBrake for Windows support
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
Post Reply
TMProjection
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2020 9:44 am

Upscaling 1916 x 1076 to 1920 to 1080

Post by TMProjection »

Hey, i been trying to find the information online about this with the only solutions stating "theres no increase in quality", or just learn CLI

is there literally no way to stretch the video to round the resolution up to standard resolutions?

for the CLI, i found

-w, --width <number> Set storage width in pixels
-l, --height <number> Set storage height in pixels

is this not something i could use in the GUI version of the program advanced options command input? or would i have to learn CLI from the ground up and recreate all the presets etc
Woodstock
Veteran User
Posts: 3840
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 6:39 am

Re: Upscaling 1916 x 1076 to 1920 to 1080

Post by Woodstock »

At this time, the GUI does not have any provisions for upscaling. The reasons for that are probably detailed in what you've read so far.

Also, your proposed upscale will do almost nothing, other than cause some pixels to be smeared a bit. There is a "pad" filter (I think it's only available in the CLI) to add letterboxing around the video to make it report 1920x1080, without distorting any pixels. You'll then have a 2-pixel black border, which usually is hard to see. That is what your TV is doing already, with the 1916x1076 video.
rollin_eng
Veteran User
Posts: 3599
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 11:06 pm

Re: Upscaling 1916 x 1076 to 1920 to 1080

Post by rollin_eng »

You can call your presets from the CLI.
musicvid
Veteran User
Posts: 3753
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2009 1:19 am

Re: Upscaling 1916 x 1076 to 1920 to 1080

Post by musicvid »

Even though it's "standard," there is nothing sacred about 1920x1080. Is there a particular player you're having trouble with?
Silent_Strider
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2019 9:31 pm

Re: Upscaling 1916 x 1076 to 1920 to 1080

Post by Silent_Strider »

Either you should be able to tell the player to use the original size and center it, or let the player zoom in, while trying to preserve aspect ratio
rollin_eng
Veteran User
Posts: 3599
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 11:06 pm

Re: Upscaling 1916 x 1076 to 1920 to 1080

Post by rollin_eng »

While the OP may be doing this for playback, there are other reasons to upscale/pad.
TMProjection
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2020 9:44 am

Re: Upscaling 1916 x 1076 to 1920 to 1080

Post by TMProjection »

honestly its 100% for OCD sake haha

i realise what it does as im an editor, i have no problem with players etc
Woodstock
Veteran User
Posts: 3840
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 6:39 am

Re: Upscaling 1916 x 1076 to 1920 to 1080

Post by Woodstock »

Then I'd go with the CLI and use a pad of 2 pixels on all sides - it gets you the full dimensions without distortion.

Remember, it's important to not have any disorder to your obsessive compulsive nature.
musicvid
Veteran User
Posts: 3753
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2009 1:19 am

Re: Upscaling 1916 x 1076 to 1920 to 1080

Post by musicvid »

TMProjection wrote: Sat Aug 29, 2020 10:09 am honestly its 100% for OCD sake haha
Well, there is that bedeviling fact that 1916x1076 has a natural ratio of 477:269, not 16:9 !
MovieFan1950
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2020 6:20 am

Re: Upscaling 1916 x 1076 to 1920 to 1080

Post by MovieFan1950 »

I found a way around it. What I did was selected a video with the dimensions that I wanted to use. Like a 1920 x 800 or 1920 x1080. So once I had the movie in handbrake, I prepared the encoding by setting everything manually. Like the Frame Rate to the same as the source. Then the bit rate I usually set to 2500 or you can set it for what ever you want. Encoder profile to High and the encoder level to 4.1. Next comes the audio. Now this can be set to the default of the video stereo or 5.1 or whatever the source is. Because right now, there is no way to re-encode the audio from stereo to 5.1 or higher. The subtitles are next. I usually do not add those in at the time of encoding. It's my choice. Next is the most important. You want to "Add" this as a new profile. It should be listed as a custom profile. That's it. Clear your test video, and you're ready to encode the one that is bugging you. Good Luck.
TMProjection
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2020 9:44 am

Re: Upscaling 1916 x 1076 to 1920 to 1080

Post by TMProjection »

MovieFan1950 wrote: Sun Aug 30, 2020 6:29 am I found a way around it. What I did was selected a video with the dimensions that I wanted to use. Like a 1920 x 800 or 1920 x1080. So once I had the movie in handbrake, I prepared the encoding by setting everything manually. Like the Frame Rate to the same as the source. Then the bit rate I usually set to 2500 or you can set it for what ever you want. Encoder profile to High and the encoder level to 4.1. Next comes the audio. Now this can be set to the default of the video stereo or 5.1 or whatever the source is. Because right now, there is no way to re-encode the audio from stereo to 5.1 or higher. The subtitles are next. I usually do not add those in at the time of encoding. It's my choice. Next is the most important. You want to "Add" this as a new profile. It should be listed as a custom profile. That's it. Clear your test video, and you're ready to encode the one that is bugging you. Good Luck.
basically you mean create a custom profile with a SET resolution rather than "use source" right? i just tried that but no, it wont increase resolution, only decrease

or did i get it wrong?
rollin_eng
Veteran User
Posts: 3599
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 11:06 pm

Re: Upscaling 1916 x 1076 to 1920 to 1080

Post by rollin_eng »

Are you really wanting to lose quality and waste time just to add a few pixels?
User avatar
Rodeo
HandBrake Team
Posts: 12617
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:55 pm

Re: Upscaling 1916 x 1076 to 1920 to 1080

Post by Rodeo »

As long as he is happy.
rollin_eng
Veteran User
Posts: 3599
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 11:06 pm

Re: Upscaling 1916 x 1076 to 1920 to 1080

Post by rollin_eng »

Sure, but my own OCD would keep the quality and stick with 1916 x 1076 :)
TMProjection
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2020 9:44 am

Re: Upscaling 1916 x 1076 to 1920 to 1080

Post by TMProjection »

rollin_eng wrote: Mon Aug 31, 2020 4:43 pm Sure, but my own OCD would keep the quality and stick with 1916 x 1076 :)
my mindset is different mate, haha
MovieFan1950
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2020 6:20 am

Re: Upscaling 1916 x 1076 to 1920 to 1080

Post by MovieFan1950 »

Sorry it did not work for you. I have been doing this for a very long time with great success. So, maybe I'm just lucky. But I do think this should be a "bug fix" item. As more and more videos are being streamed on the internet, sizes sometimes get downsized by a few pixels or even more. I've actually up-sized from 1280*720 to 1920*1080 with no problems. i'm not sure why yours is not functioning.
Post Reply