minor problem: UI doesn't prevent encoding and analytics of same DVD at same time

HandBrake for Windows support
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
Post Reply
hitd
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jul 30, 2019 12:11 am

minor problem: UI doesn't prevent encoding and analytics of same DVD at same time

Post by hitd » Tue Jul 30, 2019 12:30 am

Description of problem or question:

Minor Problem in UI.


Steps to reproduce the problem (If Applicable):

During encoding from a DVD i clicked ( by error of my mind ) on "Quelle öffen" ( german version of handbrake, i think "open source" ) and tried to analyse the same DVD hanbrake is encoding from. Handbrake tries to do so, but things goes wrong. Pressed cancel, hoping Hanbrake finishs analytics and i can proceed with next soure, which was realy on HDD

But i've got a abort of handbrake, couldn't proceed

Hint: There should be a semaphore which should prevent analyse and encoding from same DVD at same time.

HandBrake version (e.g., 1.0.0):

1.2.2


Operating system and version (e.g., Ubuntu 16.04 LTS, macOS 10.13 High Sierra, Windows 10 Creators Update):

Windows 7 Pro


HandBrake Activity Log ***required*** (see How-to get an activity log)

Code: Select all

HandBrake 1.2.2 (2019022300)
OS: Microsoft Windows NT 6.1.7601 Service Pack 1
CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3320M CPU @ 2.60GHz
Ram: 11985 MB, 
GPU Information:
  Intel(R) HD Graphics 4000 - 10.18.10.4425
Screen: 1600x900
Temp Dir: C:\Users\admin\AppData\Local\Temp\
Install Dir: C:\Program Files\HandBrake
Data Dir: C:\Users\admin\AppData\Roaming\HandBrake

-------------------------------------------

Cannot load nvEncodeAPI64.dll


Woodstock
Veteran User
Posts: 3155
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 6:39 am

Re: minor problem: UI doesn't prevent encoding and analytics of same DVD at same time

Post by Woodstock » Tue Jul 30, 2019 2:12 pm

Since handbrake is officially NOT a ripper (and has not been one for over a decade), why would it need to coordinate ripping between instances?

hitd
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jul 30, 2019 12:11 am

Re: minor problem: UI doesn't prevent encoding and analytics of same DVD at same time

Post by hitd » Wed Jul 31, 2019 2:04 am

Simply to do perfect work ?

However, I've got a lot of unencrypted DVDs from my father ( died 3 years ago ) with family meetings and holiday memories which are recorded by camcorder ( mostly on DV tapes ). He edited them on a computer, put some background music and a comment to it and burned a DVD.

Because i've made RTFM, i found:
see: https://handbrake.fr/docs/en/1.2.0/work ... ource.html

About sources

In HandBrake terms, the video you already have is called the Source. One of HandBrake’s strengths is its ability to open Sources in a wide variety of video formats, including but not limited to:
[..]
DVD, Blu-ray, AVCHD/AVCHD Lite2, and HD-DVD3 discs or disc backups
[..]
Right, handbrake is not a ripper for encrypted DVDs, but there is a world outside encrypted DVDs.

BTW: sorry for bad english, i'm native german.

mduell
Veteran User
Posts: 6590
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:54 pm

Re: minor problem: UI doesn't prevent encoding and analytics of same DVD at same time

Post by mduell » Wed Jul 31, 2019 6:36 pm

HB also doesn't cope well with poorly authored DVDs, which is common for homemade DVDs.

Post Reply