NOTICE: Read Me if HandBrake won't start

HandBrake for Windows support
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
Post Reply
User avatar
s55
HandBrake Team
Posts: 9522
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 1:05 pm

NOTICE: Read Me if HandBrake won't start

Post by s55 » Wed Jul 24, 2019 8:16 pm

Problem

HandBrake won't start or throws an exception error when launching and won't run.

Steps to Take:

  1. Reset HandBrake back to defaults (Removes all Settings, Presets, Queue)
    First backup, then delete all files from %appdata%\HandBrake (You can try restoring these later if it starts working.)
  2. Download the "Safe Mode" version of the HandBrake Nightly from: https://handbrake.fr/nightly.php (Note "SafeMode" part of the filename).
    This build has all hardware encoders (Intel QuickSync, AMD VCE and Nvidia NVENC) disabled.
  3. If the "SafeMode" version works, please copy the activity log after starting the application and post it in this thread.
    It should appear as the example below.
  4. If that doesn't work, Make sure you don't have any software such as MSI AfterBurner, RivaTuner, Overclocking tools, Screen capture tools currently running in the background.
    If you find a particular tool that conflicts with HandBrake, please report it!
  5. Finally, if the above did not work, make sure your GPU drivers are up-to-date from Intel, AMD or Nvidia's own website. You can try the your OEM site first but these drivers are commonly problematic / out-of-date so your mileage may vary.
    Avoid driver updates though Windows Update or "Update Assistant" tools if you can.
    Note, While driver updates usually don't cause issues, they can sometimes can so please take a backup of your system first!


Activity Log Example wrote:HandBrake Nightly 20190722230814-c16151f-master (2019072401)
OS: Microsoft Windows NT 10.0.18362.0
CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-8700K CPU @ 3.70GHz
Ram: 65357 MB,
GPU Information:
Intel(R) UHD Graphics 630 - 26.20.100.6912
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 6GB - 25.21.14.1881
Screen: 2560x1440
Temp Dir: F:\Cache\UserTemp\
Install Dir: C:\Program Files\HandBrake Nightly
Data Dir: C:\Users\Iser\AppData\Roaming\HandBrake\Nightly

-------------------------------------------
Last edited by s55 on Sat Aug 17, 2019 10:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.

markfilipak
Regular User
Posts: 109
Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2019 8:58 pm

Re: NOTICE: Read Me if HandBrake won't start

Post by markfilipak » Sat Aug 17, 2019 8:56 pm

s55 wrote:
Wed Jul 24, 2019 8:16 pm
... Make sure your GPU drivers are up-to-date from Intel, AMD or Nvidia's own website.
That is unwise advice. Drivers should always be downloaded from the computer (or video card) manufacturer's web site, not from a chip manufacturer's web site. Case in point:
My laptop has Intel HD Graphics and NVIDIA GeForce 980M. It uses a technology named "Optimus" (though that name is not revealed to ordinary users). If I download NVIDIA drivers for the 980M, or if I allow the NVIDIA drivers to update, Optimus breaks. That causes Windows to load a generic video driver.

User avatar
s55
HandBrake Team
Posts: 9522
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 1:05 pm

Re: NOTICE: Read Me if HandBrake won't start

Post by s55 » Sat Aug 17, 2019 9:40 pm

Your OEM Nividia drivers, are from Nvidia so there should be no issue there. As always, there is a risk of problems with driver updates, but given the trend for OEMs providing out-of-date, broken, or stripped down drivers i'd always go towards the primary vendor as a first call, and only fallback to OEM as a last resort.

There are a few cases where OEMs are installing software on machines to prevent driver updates, and in those cases there may never be a solution provided

markfilipak
Regular User
Posts: 109
Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2019 8:58 pm

Re: NOTICE: Read Me if HandBrake won't start

Post by markfilipak » Sat Aug 17, 2019 10:11 pm

s55 wrote:
Sat Aug 17, 2019 9:40 pm
Your OEM Nividia drivers, are from Nvidia so there should be no issue there.
You are innocently unaware, but there are serious issues there. The GeForce980M updated drivers from the NVIDIA web site break Optimus. Allowing the NVIDIA control panel to update the drivers breaks Optimus. That the OEM drivers are from NVIDIA should not (must not) imply that subsequently downloading updated drivers for that model of NVIDIA (GeForce 980M, in this case) is okay. It's not okay. NVIDIA does not take into account that the chip may be in an Optimus environment. Their updated GeForce 980M drivers are incompatible. I know, I know, Intel & NVIDIA worked out Optimus, but NIVIDIA is not conforming when updates are made (whether by download+install or by update utility). It is a really f**ked up situtation and NVIDIA is being very irresponsible. My point: One-size-fits-all advice can be dangerous.
As always, there is a risk of problems with driver updates, but given the trend for OEMs providing out-of-date, broken, or stripped down drivers i'd always go towards the primary vendor as a first call, and only fallback to OEM as a last resort.
The primary vendor must be the computer (or video card) manufacturer. If they are f**king up, they need to know it.

Updating video drivers from chip manufacturers (rather than from computer manufacturers) can destroy a computer. You read me right. In NVIDIA's case, NVIDIA includes overclockers that can (and have) destroyed computers (and voided warranties).

User avatar
s55
HandBrake Team
Posts: 9522
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 1:05 pm

Re: NOTICE: Read Me if HandBrake won't start

Post by s55 » Sat Aug 17, 2019 10:23 pm

The primary vendor must be the computer (or video card) manufacturer. If they are f**king up, they need to know it.
They know, they don't care and currently have no reason to care. They have your money.

markfilipak
Regular User
Posts: 109
Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2019 8:58 pm

Re: NOTICE: Read Me if HandBrake won't start

Post by markfilipak » Sat Aug 17, 2019 11:55 pm

s55 wrote:
Sat Aug 17, 2019 10:23 pm
The primary vendor must be the computer (or video card) manufacturer. If they are f**king up, they need to know it.
They know, they don't care and currently have no reason to care. They have your money.
I feel your pain. But they (the computer or card manufacturer) don't know. It's the contract customer service company that doesn't care. You're not their customer, the manufacturer is. And the manufacturer is unlikely to discover that the contractor is f**king up unless you tell them. All of the preceeding and more applies to the contract repair facility. They get paid once. If you have to return a unit again, they eat the time spent.

markfilipak
Regular User
Posts: 109
Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2019 8:58 pm

Re: NOTICE: Read Me if HandBrake won't start

Post by markfilipak » Sun Aug 18, 2019 12:00 am

Of course, the contract repair facility tries everything to keep you from returning a previously repaired warranty unit. But they have this factored in. They simply refresh the factory settings on the 1st return because that usually fixes the problem. If there is a real hardware/driver problem, you should send it back ASAP.

Post Reply