4K IMAX

HandBrake for Windows support
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
Post Reply
Wull
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jul 13, 2019 7:08 am

4K IMAX

Post by Wull » Mon Jul 15, 2019 11:25 am

Description of problem or question:

Hi.

I have used Handbrake in the past to reauthor 1080p movies that include IMAX scope scenes to display 2.35:1 only (no compression). I would like to be able to do the same to 4K movies.

So i am wondering if this is possible. If so would you mind sharing your settings? I'm not sure what 'video/bitrate kbps' & 'dimensions/screen height & width' I should be using?

Thanks


HandBrake version (e.g., 1.0.0):

using version 1.2.2




Operating system and version (e.g., Ubuntu 16.04 LTS, macOS 10.13 High Sierra, Windows 10 Creators Update):

Windows 10 64bit


rollin_eng
Veteran User
Posts: 3147
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 11:06 pm

Re: 4K IMAX

Post by rollin_eng » Mon Jul 15, 2019 12:35 pm

Just use a preset that suits you best and adjust as necessary.

Wull
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jul 13, 2019 7:08 am

Re: 4K IMAX

Post by Wull » Mon Jul 15, 2019 6:34 pm

Thanks. Guess it's trial and error then. 'This could turn out to be a long journey'. I've had Handbrake running on my PC for 24 hours now. And it looks like there's a further 13 hours to go to complete my first attempt.

Woodstock
Veteran User
Posts: 3185
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 6:39 am

Re: 4K IMAX

Post by Woodstock » Mon Jul 15, 2019 6:52 pm

When you're testing settings, there is no real need to encode an entire video; pick a section that has what you think are the "most important" attributes, and use that section for your tests. View the results. Good or bad, you don't have to wait a day to see what is going on.

Wull
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jul 13, 2019 7:08 am

Re: 4K IMAX

Post by Wull » Mon Jul 15, 2019 7:14 pm

That a good idea. Cheers

mduell
Veteran User
Posts: 6635
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:54 pm

Re: 4K IMAX

Post by mduell » Tue Jul 16, 2019 2:51 am

Use a 4K preset to keep it full width.

Post Reply