Page 1 of 1

HEVC Encoder Level?

Posted: Sat Jun 08, 2019 2:59 pm
by Browny399
How do I get the option to modify the Encoder Level of x265? I can see this option in x264 but cannot in x265. I always get Main10 L2 video results when I convert to x265 video. I want to change it to High Profile and 4.1 Level, How do I do this?

Re: HEVC Encoder Level?

Posted: Sat Jun 08, 2019 5:33 pm
by Woodstock
To do what you want, you have to use x264, because the profiles in h265 are different than they are in h264.

Handbrake lists the profiles that are available for the encoder you chose.

Re: HEVC Encoder Level?

Posted: Sat Jun 08, 2019 6:07 pm
by Browny399
Woodstock wrote:
Sat Jun 08, 2019 5:33 pm
To do what you want, you have to use x264, because the profiles in h265 are different than they are in h264.

Handbrake lists the profiles that are available for the encoder you chose.
Then how this guy did that using x265 with his encoded movie I downloaded from torrent?

Image

https://i.imgur.com/hbR8jwL.jpg

Re: HEVC Encoder Level?

Posted: Sat Jun 08, 2019 6:22 pm
by mduell
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.

Re: HEVC Encoder Level?

Posted: Sat Jun 08, 2019 7:57 pm
by Woodstock
The "Level" is strictly dependent upon the bit rate, and is automatically determined by the encoder. There are HEVC-specific charts available that show the limits imposed by each level.

If you want "level 4.1", you need to set encoding parameters that exceed 66,846,720 samples per second, but less than 133,693,440 s/s. There is no use for forcing the file to "4.1" if the bit rate isn't that high.

Re: HEVC Encoder Level?

Posted: Sat Jun 08, 2019 10:30 pm
by mduell
Woodstock wrote:
Sat Jun 08, 2019 7:57 pm
The "Level" is strictly dependent upon the bit rate
Nope.

Re: HEVC Encoder Level?

Posted: Sun Jun 09, 2019 1:56 am
by Rodeo
And x265 can let you set a specific level, but IIRC they're not listed in our GUI drop-down.

Re: HEVC Encoder Level?

Posted: Sun Jun 09, 2019 8:07 am
by Browny399
Woodstock wrote:
Sat Jun 08, 2019 7:57 pm
The "Level" is strictly dependent upon the bit rate, and is automatically determined by the encoder. There are HEVC-specific charts available that show the limits imposed by each level.

If you want "level 4.1", you need to set encoding parameters that exceed 66,846,720 samples per second, but less than 133,693,440 s/s. There is no use for forcing the file to "4.1" if the bit rate isn't that high.
I am trying to re-encode a 9000 Kb/s 1080p H264 movie to a 3000 Kb/s 1080p HEVC output using "Average Bitrate" option

Re: HEVC Encoder Level?

Posted: Sun Jun 09, 2019 11:30 pm
by mduell
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.

Re: HEVC Encoder Level?

Posted: Mon Jun 10, 2019 3:53 pm
by JohnAStebbins
It appears that support for setting encoder levels was added to x265 a few months *after* initial support for x265 was added to HandBrake and nobody ever caught it and implemented x265 level support in HandBrake. You can manually add it to the "More Settings" box on the video tab, e.g. "level-idc=5.0", but the options in the level dropdown are currently ignored.

I just created a PR to fix this. When It's reviewed, tested, and committed, support will be available in the nightly builds.
https://github.com/HandBrake/HandBrake/pull/2142

Re: HEVC Encoder Level?

Posted: Mon Jun 10, 2019 7:24 pm
by mduell
Even if you can't set it, I'm curious to see logs why OP's content would be L2 when he wants L4.1. Seems like auto should DTRT.

Re: HEVC Encoder Level?

Posted: Mon Jun 10, 2019 8:59 pm
by JohnAStebbins
mduell wrote:
Mon Jun 10, 2019 7:24 pm
Even if you can't set it, I'm curious to see logs why OP's content would be L2 when he wants L4.1. Seems like auto should DTRT.
When the level is unspecified, x265 sets the level to the appropriate value given the other provided settings.

When the level is specified, it checks if the other provided settings are valid for the requested level and errors out if they are not. Setting the level to a higher value than is required by the other settings is allowed, but has no value.

If the encoder is currently setting the level to 2, then that is all that is needed given the settings that were requested and setting the level higher does nothing other than making the video unplayable on players that use the level to determine if the video is within the players capabilities. i.e. setting the level does not cause the encoder to use more advanced settings.

Re: HEVC Encoder Level?

Posted: Mon Jun 10, 2019 9:00 pm
by mduell
Which makes OP's request, and comparison to a 1080p encode, all the more confusing if true.

Re: HEVC Encoder Level?

Posted: Mon Jun 10, 2019 9:13 pm
by JohnAStebbins
mduell wrote:
Mon Jun 10, 2019 9:00 pm
Which makes OP's request, and comparison to a 1080p encode, all the more confusing if true.
Ah, right, if the output is 1080p, the output level should be at least 4.