Handbrake doesn't open in windows 10

HandBrake for Windows support
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
Post Reply
pk_hand
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon May 13, 2019 5:28 am

Handbrake doesn't open in windows 10

Post by pk_hand » Mon May 13, 2019 5:35 am

Description of problem or question:

Handbrake simply won't open or start. There are no error dialogs of any kind.


Steps to reproduce the problem (If Applicable):
Double click on handbrake shortcut icon, or select it from the start menu, tried to run as administrator, tried to run in safe mode as I saw other threads saying this helped, BUT that was because they were using intel display drivers that became disabled in safe mode. My laptop does not contain intel display drivers, only one nvidia driver for my GPU.



HandBrake version (e.g., 1.0.0):

1.2.2




Operating system and version (e.g., Ubuntu 16.04 LTS, macOS 10.13 High Sierra, Windows 10 Creators Update):
Windows 10 home build 17763




HandBrake Activity Log ***required*** (see How-to get an activity log)

Activity log does not exist. No handbrake folders exist in the appdata folders

Code: Select all

Please replace this text with the contents of your log file between the two code tags - OR -  provide a pastebin URL in place of these 3 lines.

Woodstock
Veteran User
Posts: 3064
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 6:39 am

Re: Handbrake doesn't open in windows 10

Post by Woodstock » Mon May 13, 2019 12:44 pm

Failure to start usually means Windows is interfering for some reason. What does the Windows Event Viewer have recorded?

pk_hand
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon May 13, 2019 5:28 am

Re: Handbrake doesn't open in windows 10

Post by pk_hand » Wed May 15, 2019 1:35 am

edited
Last edited by pk_hand on Wed May 15, 2019 2:05 am, edited 1 time in total.

pk_hand
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon May 13, 2019 5:28 am

Re: Handbrake doesn't open in windows 10

Post by pk_hand » Wed May 15, 2019 2:05 am

I don't even know what to look for there. I've opened the event viewer and refreshed it after trying to start handbrake. I'm not sure where to look, but there was something to do with .net. The documentation for handbrake suggests that we don't need to download .NET for windows 10 because it already has it, but I tried to get the latest version anyway but it gave an error during installation and didn't complete. Let me know if there's something else I should be looking at to find the problem. It seems we can't post screenshots directly in here, they have to exist on the web somewhere. VERY user unfriendly for a support forum! Anyway, here's one of the error message I got in the event viewer. The source was ".NET runtime"

Application: HandBrake.exe Framework Version: v4.0.30319 Description: The process was terminated due to an unhandled exception. Exception Info: exception code e0434352, exception address 00007FF84B199129 Stack:

rjva
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu May 16, 2019 4:45 pm

Re: Handbrake doesn't open in windows 10

Post by rjva » Thu May 16, 2019 4:50 pm

I'm having the same issue. I just installed HandBrake for the first time. I got the latest version (1.2.2) running on my desktop, but it won't work on my laptop (Dell XPS 13 9370), which is what I originally wan'ted to use it on. It just doesn't open. I've updated Windows, installed the latest .NET Framework, running as administrator, running in compatibility mode, uninstalling/reinstalling, all the other troubleshooting steps I could think of.

Eventually, I tried installing older versions of HandBrake, and I was able to get the 32-bit version of 1.07 to launch. No idea why it won't launch any 64-bit version.

User avatar
s55
HandBrake Team
Posts: 9417
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 1:05 pm

Re: Handbrake doesn't open in windows 10

Post by s55 » Thu May 16, 2019 6:31 pm

Make sure your Intel UHD Graphics drivers are up-to-date From Intels site, not Dell

Same applies to those with Nvidia or AMD parts. All 3 vendors have a drivers that work, and those that don't. Failing that, something a bit more complex is broken on these systems and unfortunately there won't be any easy way of tracking that down. You'd get into GDB debugging territory to find out what is actually crashing. (System, Driver or HandBrake)

rjva
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu May 16, 2019 4:45 pm

Re: Handbrake doesn't open in windows 10

Post by rjva » Thu May 16, 2019 6:59 pm

I can't get the graphics driver from Intel. I get this message:

A customized computer manufacturer driver is installed on your computer. The Intel Driver & Support Assistant is not able to update the driver. Installing a generic Intel driver instead of the customized computer manufacturer driver may cause technical issues. Contact your computer manufacturer for the latest driver for your computer.

When I try to install a generic driver anyway, I get a message saying it won't install because the driver isn't validated for this computer.

But it's not like the XPS 13 is an obscure laptop. If it were an issue with its graphics driver, I'd expect this problem to be a bit more widespread.

Anyway, here's the error in the Event Viewer from the last time I tried to open it:

Log Name: Application
Source: Application Error
Date: 5/16/2019 2:31:50 PM
Event ID: 1000
Task Category: (100)
Level: Error
Keywords: Classic
User: N/A
Computer: LAPTOP-K4DDOFE9
Description:
Faulting application name: HandBrake.exe, version: 1.2.2.0, time stamp: 0x5c7180e9
Faulting module name: unknown, version: 0.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x00000000
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x00007ffafffffffe
Faulting process id: 0x3120
Faulting application start time: 0x01d50c159f3d66bc
Faulting application path: C:\Program Files\HandBrake\HandBrake.exe
Faulting module path: unknown
Report Id: edef934d-9db3-4477-ba03-ec96cd4af7ab
Faulting package full name:
Faulting package-relative application ID:
Event Xml:
<Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
<System>
<Provider Name="Application Error" />
<EventID Qualifiers="0">1000</EventID>
<Level>2</Level>
<Task>100</Task>
<Keywords>0x80000000000000</Keywords>
<TimeCreated SystemTime="2019-05-16T18:31:50.210459600Z" />
<EventRecordID>2794</EventRecordID>
<Channel>Application</Channel>
<Computer>LAPTOP-K4DDOFE9</Computer>
<Security />
</System>
<EventData>
<Data>HandBrake.exe</Data>
<Data>1.2.2.0</Data>
<Data>5c7180e9</Data>
<Data>unknown</Data>
<Data>0.0.0.0</Data>
<Data>00000000</Data>
<Data>c0000005</Data>
<Data>00007ffafffffffe</Data>
<Data>3120</Data>
<Data>01d50c159f3d66bc</Data>
<Data>C:\Program Files\HandBrake\HandBrake.exe</Data>
<Data>unknown</Data>
<Data>edef934d-9db3-4477-ba03-ec96cd4af7ab</Data>
<Data>
</Data>
<Data>
</Data>
</EventData>
</Event>

User avatar
s55
HandBrake Team
Posts: 9417
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 1:05 pm

Re: Handbrake doesn't open in windows 10

Post by s55 » Thu May 16, 2019 7:03 pm

0xc0000005 is just a generic unknown error.

To get a hard crash like this on startup, it has to be a low level operation so it's highly likely to the be quicksync probe that's causing it. (and has been for several other users). The fix for them was updating drivers so your a bit screwed if Dell are unnecessarily locking things down.
But it's not like the XPS 13 is an obscure laptop. If it were an issue with its graphics driver, I'd expect this problem to be a bit more widespread.
Your not the first to report this behaviour. We've had a few dozen reports (mostly from AMD on their APU side, and Intel across the board)

NickF123
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed May 22, 2019 7:04 pm

Re: Handbrake doesn't open in windows 10

Post by NickF123 » Wed May 22, 2019 7:09 pm

Are any of you attempting to run 64 bit version of handbrake on 32 bit version of Windows 10?

Post Reply