Handbrake for High Core Count Utilization

HandBrake for Windows support
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
Post Reply
intel
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2019 1:33 am

Handbrake for High Core Count Utilization

Post by intel »

Description of problem or question:

Handbrake unable to utilize high core count CPU


Steps to reproduce the problem (If Applicable):

None-


HandBrake version (e.g., 1.0.0):

1.2.2

Operating system and version (e.g., Ubuntu 16.04 LTS, macOS 10.13 High Sierra, Windows 10 Creators Update):

Windows Server 2019 Datacenter Core with Desktop Experience


HandBrake Activity Log ***required*** (see How-to get an activity log)

Code: Select all

Please replace this text with the contents of your log file between the two code tags - OR -  provide a pastebin URL in place of these 3 lines.

So I'm currently encoding using a server, which has 96 vCPU, but the current handbrake version only utilize up to 48 cores, is there any way to unlock handbrake's ability to utilize all CPU cores available?

rollin_eng
Veteran User
Posts: 3444
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 11:06 pm

Re: Handbrake for High Core Count Utilization

Post by rollin_eng »

Could you please post your HB logs, instructions can be found here:

https://handbrake.fr/docs/en/latest/hel ... y-log.html

Woodstock
Veteran User
Posts: 3616
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 6:39 am

Re: Handbrake for High Core Count Utilization

Post by Woodstock »

Run multiple copies.

There are limits to how much the various encoders will "spread the load". And not all filters allow more than one thread, which also imposes speed limitations.

Not every problem gets "better" with more cores. Beyond a certain point (which varies with the task), the overhead of keeping things synchronized exceeds the benefit of spreading the load.

User avatar
BradleyS
Moderator
Posts: 1843
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2007 12:16 pm

Re: Handbrake for High Core Count Utilization

Post by BradleyS »

I believe we need libnuma for multi-socket systems, which is in consideration. What Woodstock said is still relevant.

User avatar
JohnAStebbins
HandBrake Team
Posts: 5575
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 7:21 pm

Re: Handbrake for High Core Count Utilization

Post by JohnAStebbins »

BradleyS wrote:
Wed Mar 20, 2019 7:26 pm
I believe we need libnuma for multi-socket systems, which is in consideration. What Woodstock said is still relevant.
Not just mult-socket these days. AMD Epyc and some Ryzen are multi-module in a single socket. These also benefit from numa.

mduell
Veteran User
Posts: 7107
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:54 pm

Re: Handbrake for High Core Count Utilization

Post by mduell »

Encode higher res content or use more threaded filters.

If you don't need either of those, run multiple copies in parallel.

Post Reply