Advanced Preset Incompatibility

HandBrake for Windows support
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
Post Reply
Bruno Augusto
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2017 7:16 pm

Advanced Preset Incompatibility

Post by Bruno Augusto » Tue Feb 05, 2019 5:33 pm

I've been quite off video encoding since December 2017 with, I believe, HandBrake v1.0.1, and back then I remember having researched about each of the x264 options available under the Advanced tab and then I've built my own preset.

However, after reinstalling my system, updating everything installed, HandBrake included, I noticed that the Advanced tab is not visible (as it used to be) but also I can't enable it as before. Because of this, even though the preset I've created is successfully imported, all the custom Extra Options are gone or at least aren't being taken into account.

Has the feature really been removed in this meanwhile or it's just an incompatibility with the presets format? If the latter, how could I rebuild it for the latest version?

Woodstock
Veteran User
Posts: 3014
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 6:39 am

Re: Advanced Preset Incompatibility

Post by Woodstock » Tue Feb 05, 2019 6:01 pm

The advanced tab was deprecated in 0.10.x, and removed in 1.2.x, for reasons posted on this forum dozens of times over the past several years.

Everything it COULD do, and more that it could not, can be set in "Extra Options" on the video tab.

Bruno Augusto
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2017 7:16 pm

Re: Advanced Preset Incompatibility

Post by Bruno Augusto » Tue Feb 05, 2019 6:27 pm

As a casual user, I won't argue the reasons behind its removal, as well as I couldn't know its removal had been debated that extensively because I don't follow the Forum nor the GitHub. I just... use.

However, with its removal, building the Extra Options becomes a little more difficult for me. Back in 2017 I remember it wasn't easy to find information regarding each option as the vast majority of articles I'd found didn't go straight to the point, having a lot of specifics that aren't exactly useful when one is looking for a direct answer, but at least I had a start point (the labels near the checkboxes and dropdown menus on HandBrake's GUI).

Regardless, could you then tell me if, after adjusting the other tabs, of course, by simply copying the value of x264Option in the preset definition I've linked is enough?

User avatar
s55
HandBrake Team
Posts: 9393
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 1:05 pm

Re: Advanced Preset Incompatibility

Post by s55 » Tue Feb 05, 2019 6:55 pm

You can paste in the old options string yes, but there is little point. The x264 preset system is highly optimised. The chances of getting any meaningful gains beyond that are not high. Also, since the defaults have greatly changed, it could well invalidate your settings anyway or make them sub-optimal.

Basically, aside from a few edge cases, there really isn't much need to adjust options manually anymore.

You are far better off going with the. Choose a preset that is as slow as you can tolerate. Set the Profile / Level to whatever your device supports, or leave on auto if it doesn't matter. Chose a suitable quality setting. Encode.

mduell
Veteran User
Posts: 6446
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:54 pm

Re: Advanced Preset Incompatibility

Post by mduell » Wed Feb 06, 2019 3:31 am

And pick a tune appropriate for your content/preferences.

Post Reply