HandBrake 1.2.0: best settings to create a good Hevec file?

HandBrake for Windows support
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
FoxAdriano
Regular User
Posts: 117
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2015 2:06 pm

HandBrake 1.2.0: best settings to create a good Hevec file?

Post by FoxAdriano » Fri Dec 28, 2018 2:23 pm

Hi, I need to create a h.265 file with max video quality from a UHD file. I have Pal system and I have the latest version HandBrake 1.2.0. Is there a preset or do I have to make good settings on HandBrake? If I need to do it, could you help to tell me what are the precise settings please? I'm not expert. Thanks

rollin_eng
Veteran User
Posts: 2990
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 11:06 pm

Re: HandBrake 1.2.0: best settings to create a good Hevec file?

Post by rollin_eng » Fri Dec 28, 2018 2:41 pm

Could you please post your HB logs, instructions can be found here:

https://handbrake.fr/docs/en/latest/hel ... y-log.html

FoxAdriano
Regular User
Posts: 117
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2015 2:06 pm

Re: HandBrake 1.2.0: best settings to create a good Hevec file?

Post by FoxAdriano » Fri Dec 28, 2018 3:10 pm

I'm sorry but I asked a different question. I don't have any log. A lot of time ago I had this preset:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/hiojuz938zkzv ... .json?dl=0
But I think it was not a good preset.

rollin_eng
Veteran User
Posts: 2990
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 11:06 pm

Re: HandBrake 1.2.0: best settings to create a good Hevec file?

Post by rollin_eng » Fri Dec 28, 2018 3:18 pm

When you open your source file you will create a log file.

Woodstock
Veteran User
Posts: 2925
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 6:39 am

Re: HandBrake 1.2.0: best settings to create a good Hevec file?

Post by Woodstock » Fri Dec 28, 2018 4:36 pm

Your question is ambiguous.

To achieve "max video quality", DO NOTHING to the original ; You cannot get any better quality by encoding it again. You CAN get smaller files, but the quality is always reduced. You can get the exact same quality (lossless), but at a bigger size.

You need to think about your goal. Do you have a target device, that will constrain what you can do?

FoxAdriano
Regular User
Posts: 117
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2015 2:06 pm

Re: HandBrake 1.2.0: best settings to create a good Hevec file?

Post by FoxAdriano » Fri Dec 28, 2018 6:23 pm

I explain you better. I have an UHD project on Edius 9 timeline. I can't export to h.265 file but only h.264 file. Now I'd like to create one file without compression and to put it into HandBrake to ceate a h.265 file. I'm sure I will get a better image quality of the video. I hope you understand my bad english.

rollin_eng
Veteran User
Posts: 2990
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 11:06 pm

Re: HandBrake 1.2.0: best settings to create a good Hevec file?

Post by rollin_eng » Fri Dec 28, 2018 6:35 pm

Try it and post your log.

mduell
Veteran User
Posts: 6329
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:54 pm

Re: HandBrake 1.2.0: best settings to create a good Hevec file?

Post by mduell » Fri Dec 28, 2018 6:36 pm

Apple 2160p60 4K HEVC Surround preset

FoxAdriano
Regular User
Posts: 117
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2015 2:06 pm

Re: HandBrake 1.2.0: best settings to create a good Hevec file?

Post by FoxAdriano » Fri Dec 28, 2018 9:51 pm

mduell wrote:
Fri Dec 28, 2018 6:36 pm
Apple 2160p60 4K HEVC Surround preset
Why Apple? I have a PC with Windows 10. ;)

mduell
Veteran User
Posts: 6329
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:54 pm

Re: HandBrake 1.2.0: best settings to create a good Hevec file?

Post by mduell » Fri Dec 28, 2018 9:58 pm

It's a good balance of settings that happen to be compatible with some Apple devices.

FoxAdriano
Regular User
Posts: 117
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2015 2:06 pm

Re: HandBrake 1.2.0: best settings to create a good Hevec file?

Post by FoxAdriano » Fri Dec 28, 2018 10:52 pm

Could I ask you why not "Production Max"? If you look at the settings it seems can give better quality. I like to understand better. Thanks.

mduell
Veteran User
Posts: 6329
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:54 pm

Re: HandBrake 1.2.0: best settings to create a good Hevec file?

Post by mduell » Fri Dec 28, 2018 11:01 pm

Quality is best adjusted with the quality slider, not via picking a preset. Any preset can be set to any quality.

The production max settings are for creating files for editing. It's not very efficient because it's set up to deal with the limitations (performance and feature) of common video editing suites. Since you're not doing that, it's not good for you.

FoxAdriano
Regular User
Posts: 117
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2015 2:06 pm

Re: HandBrake 1.2.0: best settings to create a good Hevec file?

Post by FoxAdriano » Fri Dec 28, 2018 11:23 pm

I thank you, now I understand. If I need a good h.265 file, how have I to make the file for HandBrake if I have a UHD project on Edius 9 timeline? Is it better exporting 250Mbs h.264 from Edius for HandBrake or Grass Valley HQX Superfine? Thanks again one.

EDIT: How can I choose the Mbps on HandBrake?

mduell
Veteran User
Posts: 6329
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:54 pm

Re: HandBrake 1.2.0: best settings to create a good Hevec file?

Post by mduell » Fri Dec 28, 2018 11:31 pm

Yes, export some absurd high bitrate file from your editor if you're going to do the final encode with HB. Which one doesn't really matter as long as HB can read it.

You can choose a bitrate target in the video tab, but quality based encoding is the best practice.

FoxAdriano
Regular User
Posts: 117
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2015 2:06 pm

Re: HandBrake 1.2.0: best settings to create a good Hevec file?

Post by FoxAdriano » Fri Dec 28, 2018 11:54 pm

Out of curiosity: If I have an UHD proiect do you think around 75Mbps are sufficient for a h.265 file or is it better reach even 100Mbps to get o good video?

EDIT: Is it better to export uncompressed file from my editor timeline or is it better to export with high bitrate? I have not problems with space.

mduell
Veteran User
Posts: 6329
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:54 pm

Re: HandBrake 1.2.0: best settings to create a good Hevec file?

Post by mduell » Sat Dec 29, 2018 12:05 am

Uncompressed is always better.

FoxAdriano
Regular User
Posts: 117
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2015 2:06 pm

Re: HandBrake 1.2.0: best settings to create a good Hevec file?

Post by FoxAdriano » Sat Dec 29, 2018 12:16 am

Ok, but why did you not answer my 1° question? ;)

mduell
Veteran User
Posts: 6329
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:54 pm

Re: HandBrake 1.2.0: best settings to create a good Hevec file?

Post by mduell » Sat Dec 29, 2018 12:37 am

Bitrate isn't nearly enough information to make a judgement like that, you'd have to test and see if it's satisfactory to you.

FoxAdriano
Regular User
Posts: 117
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2015 2:06 pm

Re: HandBrake 1.2.0: best settings to create a good Hevec file?

Post by FoxAdriano » Sat Dec 29, 2018 2:27 pm

Now my HadBrake is working to make a UHD file. I need a file with the best quality. I attach the logs:
1° Log is of the uncompressed file I put on HandBrake.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/nhbjwra3ofo04 ... 8.txt?dl=0
2° Log is the Settings of HandBrake. I configured it in this way.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/4xfdxdn4funa2 ... 0.txt?dl=0
MAYBE IM MAKING SOME ERRORS and one of the two logs is not the right Log.
Anyway my HandBrake is working with this settings. Look at the pic:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/82j4zryiwtbr3 ... 1.JPG?dl=0
And anyway it is strange the first Log is La Bassa Valle Dell'omo (4K) Uncompressed-1.m4v 12-29-2018 02-28-28
and the second Log is activity_log16440.
I don't know I got those two Log files. Maybe it is normal.
Could you verify if HandBrake is configured fine please?
Thanks

PS: Is it possibile to post attachments on the thread whithout using DropBox or other software?

rollin_eng
Veteran User
Posts: 2990
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 11:06 pm

Re: HandBrake 1.2.0: best settings to create a good Hevec file?

Post by rollin_eng » Sat Dec 29, 2018 3:58 pm

Seems ok, are you happy with the results?

FoxAdriano
Regular User
Posts: 117
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2015 2:06 pm

Re: HandBrake 1.2.0: best settings to create a good Hevec file?

Post by FoxAdriano » Sat Dec 29, 2018 4:51 pm

rollin_eng wrote:
Sat Dec 29, 2018 3:58 pm
are you happy with the results?
I will tell you it tomorrow because HandBrake is working. Even if I have i9, it is very slow to encode.

Out of curiosity: in your opinion what is the best preset to create HD (1920x1080) file? Even with HD I will need o good file.
Thanks

rollin_eng
Veteran User
Posts: 2990
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 11:06 pm

Re: HandBrake 1.2.0: best settings to create a good Hevec file?

Post by rollin_eng » Sat Dec 29, 2018 5:04 pm

You can always encode a clip or chapter to test your settings, much faster than doing a whole video.

Once you are happy with your encode change the resolution to 1080 and see if the quality/size/encode time are ok.

FoxAdriano
Regular User
Posts: 117
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2015 2:06 pm

Re: HandBrake 1.2.0: best settings to create a good Hevec file?

Post by FoxAdriano » Sat Dec 29, 2018 5:32 pm

If I understood correctly I have to leave the same setting of UHD but change writing 1920x1080. Right?

rollin_eng
Veteran User
Posts: 2990
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 11:06 pm

Re: HandBrake 1.2.0: best settings to create a good Hevec file?

Post by rollin_eng » Sat Dec 29, 2018 5:41 pm

Try it and see if you are happy with it.

mduell
Veteran User
Posts: 6329
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:54 pm

Re: HandBrake 1.2.0: best settings to create a good Hevec file?

Post by mduell » Sat Dec 29, 2018 5:51 pm

Given your source audio, you may as well drop the 2nd audio track and switch the first audio track to AAC passthrough or auto passthrough.

Yes, for a smaller encode, just change the picture size to the desired dimensions, and bump the quality setting up (reduce the RF) a couple points.

Post Reply