Why has the advanced tab been removed completely?

HandBrake for Windows support
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
mduell
Veteran User
Posts: 6279
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:54 pm

Re: Why has the advanced tab been removed completely?

Post by mduell » Sun Dec 30, 2018 11:05 pm

You may be confusing HB presets with the encoder presets, because they're confusingly named. The encoder presets (and tunes, and level limits) mentioned upthread have nothing to do with HB presets. You don't need to specify individual x264 options just because you don't want to use a HB preset.

DrXenos
Bright Spark User
Posts: 200
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2013 1:19 pm

Re: Why has the advanced tab been removed completely?

Post by DrXenos » Sun Dec 30, 2018 11:11 pm

No, I realize they are different. I do using the encoder presets and limits (I use high 4.1). Do the HB presets not "tweak" these with the more advanced options? I thought they did. If they don't, awesome.

mduell
Veteran User
Posts: 6279
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:54 pm

Re: Why has the advanced tab been removed completely?

Post by mduell » Mon Dec 31, 2018 12:00 am

DrXenos wrote:
Sun Dec 30, 2018 11:11 pm
No, I realize they are different. I do using the encoder presets and limits (I use high 4.1). Do the HB presets not "tweak" these with the more advanced options? I thought they did. If they don't, awesome.
High is a profile, not an encoder preset.

The HB presets may include encoder presets, tunes, profiles, levels, and really just arbitrary advanced options, but generally don't.

DrXenos
Bright Spark User
Posts: 200
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2013 1:19 pm

Re: Why has the advanced tab been removed completely?

Post by DrXenos » Mon Dec 31, 2018 12:06 am

I know it's a profile. Sorry if I my response was ambiguous. As for the preset, I use "slower." (for tuning, I typically use "film.")

RandomEngy
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2007 2:56 am

Re: Why has the advanced tab been removed completely?

Post by RandomEngy » Sat Jan 12, 2019 6:41 pm

Woodstock wrote:
Fri Dec 28, 2018 10:39 pm
You might go visit the vidcoder site - they like to add menu options to their version of handbrake.
I'm probably going to remove it from VidCoder as well for all the same reasons listed here. Also it's a large translation burden for not a lot of benefit.

mduell
Veteran User
Posts: 6279
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:54 pm

Re: Why has the advanced tab been removed completely?

Post by mduell » Sat Jan 12, 2019 6:53 pm

The conspiracy spreads! Big media got to RandomEngy.

Post Reply