Clearing queue missing in 1.2.0?

HandBrake for Windows support
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
Post Reply
rbirk
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2017 9:29 pm

Clearing queue missing in 1.2.0?

Post by rbirk » Wed Dec 26, 2018 3:23 pm

Description of problem or question:

I used to be able to clear finished entries in the queue. Now there is no options for that (as far as I can find)


Steps to reproduce the problem (If Applicable):

Open queue. no button to clear finished entries.


HandBrake version (e.g., 1.0.0):

1.2.0


Operating system and version (e.g., Ubuntu 16.04 LTS, macOS 10.13 High Sierra, Windows 10 Creators Update):

Windows


HandBrake Activity Log ***required*** (see How-to get an activity log)

Code: Select all

Please replace this text with the contents of your log file between the two code tags - OR -  provide a pastebin URL in place of these 3 lines.

User avatar
s55
HandBrake Team
Posts: 9314
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 1:05 pm

Re: Clearing queue missing in 1.2.0?

Post by s55 » Wed Dec 26, 2018 3:45 pm

There is an option to do it on the right click menu if you click on the task area.

rbirk
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2017 9:29 pm

Re: Clearing queue missing in 1.2.0?

Post by rbirk » Wed Dec 26, 2018 3:50 pm

s55 wrote:
Wed Dec 26, 2018 3:45 pm
There is an option to do it on the right click menu if you click on the task area.
Thanks!! I was missing this functionality.

I think the old place was better. I never thought of selecting an entry for global actions. Anyway, still an awesome product! Thanks again.

Numbergod
New User
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2018 12:35 am

Re: Clearing queue missing in 1.2.0?

Post by Numbergod » Fri Dec 28, 2018 12:42 am

So. In summary...

The nice clear UI option has been removed.
It's been changed to a hidden option that gives no hint that it even exists.
It's not mentioned in any of the release notes.
It's not mentioned anywhere in the documentation.
And there are no plans to make it discoverable or update any of the docs before releasing it.

And someone thought this was a good idea and would make it easier to use.

Have I missed anything? :shock:

mduell
Veteran User
Posts: 6279
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:54 pm

Re: Clearing queue missing in 1.2.0?

Post by mduell » Fri Dec 28, 2018 3:41 am

The GUI is a disaster of angry spaghetti, the sooner you abandon it for the CLI the happier you'll be.

User avatar
BradleyS
Moderator
Posts: 1462
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2007 12:16 pm

Re: Clearing queue missing in 1.2.0?

Post by BradleyS » Fri Dec 28, 2018 4:22 pm

TIL mduell goes by the alias "The GUI". :lol:

User avatar
s55
HandBrake Team
Posts: 9314
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 1:05 pm

Re: Clearing queue missing in 1.2.0?

Post by s55 » Fri Dec 28, 2018 9:19 pm

Making an awful lot of assumptions there ...

It's a very infrequently used feature so it wouldn't make the top list to document or mention. I've restored it for the upcoming 1.2.1 release since it's not doing any harm.

1.3 will hopefully introduce the new queue design so quite a few things are going to be in different places. How we expose, or choose not to expose some of these features is still up in the air.
https://github.com/HandBrake/HandBrake/issues/1087

Can play with this in the nightly builds (turned on via preferences >General > experimental) but it's still got a bit of work to be done on it.

Post Reply