Possible to limit thread usage?

HandBrake for Windows support
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
Post Reply
bobross
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2011 2:14 am

Possible to limit thread usage?

Post by bobross » Thu Jun 21, 2018 1:02 am

Can we get an an option to manually set the number of threads used? Seems like most programs are not really optimized for high core counts (36+) and it might end taking longer to encode due to overhead?

mduell
Veteran User
Posts: 6191
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:54 pm

Re: Possible to limit thread usage?

Post by mduell » Thu Jun 21, 2018 1:04 am

You can limit the video encoder threads in the advanced encoder options.

Other than that, there are a number of threads you can't control, but they won't cause the problem you're describing.

bobross
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2011 2:14 am

Re: Possible to limit thread usage?

Post by bobross » Thu Jun 21, 2018 1:22 am

Ok thanks, not seeing this video encoder threads in the advanced encoder options though...?

Woodstock
Veteran User
Posts: 2813
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 6:39 am

Re: Possible to limit thread usage?

Post by Woodstock » Thu Jun 21, 2018 1:50 pm

It's not a clickable setting. You would add it to the "Extra Options" box on the Video tab.

I'm sure someone will correct me if I'm wrong, but I'm remembering "threads=N" (where N is the number of threads to limit to) is the option.

User avatar
BradleyS
Moderator
Posts: 1427
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2007 12:16 pm

Re: Possible to limit thread usage?

Post by BradleyS » Thu Jun 21, 2018 5:01 pm

Yes, this should work for the x264 encoder (x265 uses thread pools and the options are different: http://x265.readthedocs.io/en/default/threading.html).

For the most part, there is no need to mess with this.

Post Reply