FDK AAC and the 1.1.0

HandBrake for Windows support
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
Post Reply
andrewk89
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 4:29 pm

FDK AAC and the 1.1.0

Post by andrewk89 »

Description of problem or question:
I noticed the 1.1.0 release news includes "FDK AAC 0.1.5 (AAC audio encoding, must compile from source)"

I am using HE-AAC via FDK-AAC on Windows 10 x64 with one of the nightlies post 1.0.7 release (HandBrake Nightly 20171124174407-b43c7c3-master (2017112501) - 64bit). Been working great. The reference I used to add HE-AAC is here: https://forum.videohelp.com/threads/383 ... or-Windows

Is the videohelp article still the most current reference for adding HE-AAC to 1.1.0? What changes are needed in the instructions for the 1.1.0 Windows x64 target? That was the first (and only) time I've compiled anything from source, so please consider that in your response.

Steps to reproduce the problem (If Applicable):

HandBrake version (e.g., 1.0.0):
1.1.0

Operating system and version (e.g., Ubuntu 16.04 LTS, macOS 10.13 High Sierra, Windows 10 Creators Update):
Windows 10 x64

HandBrake Activity Log ***required*** (see How-to get an activity log)

mduell
Veteran User
Posts: 6926
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:54 pm

Re: FDK AAC and the 1.1.0

Post by mduell »

If you want 1.1.0 you'd need to check out the 1.1.0 tag.

User avatar
s55
HandBrake Team
Posts: 9709
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 1:05 pm

Re: FDK AAC and the 1.1.0

Post by s55 »


andrewk89
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 4:29 pm

Re: FDK AAC and the 1.1.0

Post by andrewk89 »

Thanks. I built it on the Windows Subsystem for Linux (Ubuntu 16.04) and HE-AAC is working.

One note, the location of the nasm source is wrong. The instructions give the location with http protocol, but it needs https for the tarball path.

User avatar
BradleyS
Moderator
Posts: 1769
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2007 12:16 pm

Re: FDK AAC and the 1.1.0

Post by BradleyS »

Thanks for the heads up. I’ll get the protocol fixed soon. nasm.us has had some uptime issues as well as other changes recently so it’s hard to keep up.

Post Reply