HandBrake works only 25% on Ryzen?

HandBrake for Windows support
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
Post Reply
Raziel-CZ
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2017 11:40 am

HandBrake works only 25% on Ryzen?

Post by Raziel-CZ »

Hello, can somebody please give me some advice what I need to adjust to make HandBrake use 100% cpu of AMD Ryzen 7 1700X when rendering like it works on Intel cpus? When I start rendering the cpu usage is cca 25% and using only 8 threads instead of 16. It is not satisfactory. Stress in CPU-Z can make it use 100%. Thank you in advance for the info.

AMD RYZEN 7 1700X, 1x Kingston 16GB DDR4 2400MHz CL15 HyperX Fury Black Series, GIGABYTE AB350-GAMING 3, Microsoft Windows 10 Home CZ (FPP)

No errors, only works on 25 % per CPU (without Hyper-threading...)

Pictures Loose
Filters everything off
Video H.265, Variable Framerate, EP Placebo, Tune PSNR, EProfile Main, Quality Bitrate 2048 and 2-pass Encoding.
No audio, no subtitles, no chapters.

Any help? Thank you.

Sorry for my english.
rollin_eng
Veteran User
Posts: 3708
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 11:06 pm

Re: HandBrake works only 25% on Ryzen?

Post by rollin_eng »

Could you please post your logs, instructions can be found here:

viewtopic.php?f=6&t=31236
Woodstock
Veteran User
Posts: 3948
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 6:39 am

Re: HandBrake works only 25% on Ryzen?

Post by Woodstock »

There is a limit to the number of threads that will be used. Generally that is 6 to 8. That is in the nature of the encoder.

If you want to use "all 16", you need to start multiple encodes.
ashleylai87
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Jul 30, 2013 3:54 am

Re: HandBrake works only 25% on Ryzen?

Post by ashleylai87 »

--pmode
--pme

Use above.
User avatar
JohnAStebbins
HandBrake Team
Posts: 5583
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 7:21 pm

Re: HandBrake works only 25% on Ryzen?

Post by JohnAStebbins »

ashleylai87 wrote: Tue Mar 07, 2017 3:00 am --pmode
--pme

Use above.
Maybe he did. But without an activity log, there's no way to know.
Raziel-CZ
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2017 11:40 am

Re: HandBrake works only 25% on Ryzen?

Post by Raziel-CZ »

Code: Select all

HandBrake 1.0.3 (2017022500) - 64bit
OS: Microsoft Windows NT 10.0.14393.0 - 64bit
CPU: AMD Ryzen 7 1700X Eight-Core Processor         
Ram: 16335 MB, 
GPU Information:
  NVIDIA GeForce 210  - 21.21.13.4201
Screen: 1920x1080
Temp Dir: C:\Users\Spravce\AppData\Local\Temp\
Install Dir: C:\Program Files\HandBrake
Data Dir: C:\Users\Spravce\AppData\Roaming\HandBrake Team\HandBrake\1.0.3.0

-------------------------------------------


# Starting Encode ...

[23:55:49] hb_init: starting libhb thread
[23:55:49] 1 job(s) to process
[23:55:49] json job:
{
  "Audio": {
    "AudioList": [
      {
        "DRC": 0.0,
        "Encoder": 1125984256,
        "Gain": 0.0,
        "Mixdown": -1,
        "NormalizeMixLevel": false,
        "Samplerate": 48000,
        "Track": 0,
        "DitherMethod": 0
      }
    ],
    "CopyMask": [
      1073807360,
      1073743872,
      1074003968,
      1073750016,
      1090519040,
      1074790400,
      1074266112,
      1107296256
    ],
    "FallbackEncoder": 2048
  },
  "Destination": {
    "ChapterList": [],
    "ChapterMarkers": false,
    "File": "C:\\Konverze\\Video\\Výstupy\\Handbrake\\Četník ze Saint Tropez.mp4",
    "Mp4Options": {
      "IpodAtom": false,
      "Mp4Optimize": false
    },
    "Mux": 131072
  },
  "Filters": {
    "FilterList": [
      {
        "ID": 11,
        "Settings": {
          "crop-bottom": "74",
          "crop-left": "0",
          "crop-right": "0",
          "crop-top": "72",
          "height": "430",
          "width": "720"
        }
      },
      {
        "ID": 6,
        "Settings": {
          "mode": "0"
        }
      }
    ]
  },
  "PAR": {
    "Num": 64,
    "Den": 45
  },
  "Metadata": {},
  "SequenceID": 0,
  "Source": {
    "Angle": 1,
    "Range": {
      "Type": "chapter",
      "Start": 1,
      "End": 12
    },
    "Title": 1,
    "Path": "C:\\Konverze\\Video\\Vstupy\\DVD\\Četník ze Saint Tropez"
  },
  "Subtitle": {
    "Search": {
      "Burn": false,
      "Default": false,
      "Enable": false,
      "Forced": false
    },
    "SubtitleList": []
  },
  "Video": {
    "Encoder": 4096,
    "Level": "auto",
    "Bitrate": 1280,
    "TwoPass": true,
    "Turbo": false,
    "ColorMatrixCode": 0,
    "Options": "",
    "Preset": "placebo",
    "Profile": "main",
    "Tune": "psnr",
    "OpenCL": false,
    "HWDecode": false,
    "QSV": {
      "Decode": false,
      "AsyncDepth": 0
    }
  }
}
[23:55:49] CPU:
[23:55:49]  - logical processor count: 16
[23:55:49] Intel Quick Sync Video support: no
[23:55:49] hb_scan: path=C:\Konverze\Video\Vstupy\DVD\Četník ze Saint Tropez, title_index=1
src/libbluray/disc/disc.c:352: error opening file BDMV\index.bdmv
src/libbluray/disc/disc.c:352: error opening file BDMV\BACKUP\index.bdmv
[23:55:49] bd: not a bd - trying as a stream/file instead
libdvdnav: Using dvdnav version 5.0.1
libdvdread: Encrypted DVD support unavailable.
libdvdread: Can't open C:\Konverze\Video\Vstupy\DVD\Četník ze Saint Tropez for reading
libdvdread: Device C:\Konverze\Video\Vstupy\DVD\Četník ze Saint Tropez inaccessible, CSS authentication not available.
libdvdnav: Unable to open device file C:\Konverze\Video\Vstupy\DVD\Četník ze Saint Tropez.
libdvdnav: DVD disk reports itself with Region mask 0x00000000. Regions: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
libdvdread: Encrypted DVD support unavailable.
libdvdread: Can't open C:\Konverze\Video\Vstupy\DVD\Četník ze Saint Tropez for reading
libdvdread: Device C:\Konverze\Video\Vstupy\DVD\Četník ze Saint Tropez inaccessible, CSS authentication not available.
[23:55:49] scan: DVD has 1 title(s)
[23:55:49] scan: scanning title 1
[23:55:49] scan: opening IFO for VTS 1
[23:55:49] scan: duration is 01:35:12 (5712680 ms)
[23:55:49] pgc_id: 1, pgn: 1: pgc: 000002985D817D70
[23:55:49] scan: vts=1, ttn=1, cells=0->11, blocks=0->1917835, 1917836 blocks
[23:55:49] scan: checking audio 1
[23:55:49] scan: id=0x80bd, lang=čeština (AC3), 3cc=ces ext=1
[23:55:49] scan: checking audio 2
[23:55:49] scan: id=0x81bd, lang=Francais (AC3), 3cc=fra ext=1
[23:55:49] scan: checking subtitle 1
[23:55:49] scan: id=0x21bd, lang=čeština, 3cc=ces ext=1
[23:55:49] scan: title 1 has 12 chapters
[23:55:49] scan: chap 1 c=0->0, b=0->134438 (134439), 437320 ms
[23:55:49] scan: chap 2 c=1->1, b=134439->385694 (251256), 671840 ms
[23:55:49] scan: chap 3 c=2->2, b=385695->536618 (150924), 394160 ms
[23:55:49] scan: chap 4 c=3->3, b=536619->788596 (251978), 683800 ms
[23:55:49] scan: chap 5 c=4->4, b=788597->975855 (187259), 512200 ms
[23:55:49] scan: chap 6 c=5->5, b=975856->1121420 (145565), 490880 ms
[23:55:49] scan: chap 7 c=6->6, b=1121421->1290034 (168614), 516520 ms
[23:55:49] scan: chap 8 c=7->7, b=1290035->1434786 (144752), 517240 ms
[23:55:49] scan: chap 9 c=8->8, b=1434787->1601106 (166320), 520000 ms
[23:55:49] scan: chap 10 c=9->9, b=1601107->1743355 (142249), 454200 ms
[23:55:49] scan: chap 11 c=10->10, b=1743356->1888759 (145404), 426160 ms
[23:55:49] scan: chap 12 c=11->11, b=1888760->1917835 (29076), 88360 ms
[23:55:49] scan: aspect = 16:9
[23:55:49] scan: decoding previews for title 1
libdvdnav: DVD disk reports itself with Region mask 0x00000000. Regions: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
[23:55:49] scan: title angle(s) 1
[ac3 @ 000002985da1e740] frame sync error
[ac3 @ 000002985da1e740] frame sync error
[ac3 @ 000002985da1e740] frame sync error
[23:55:49] scan: audio 0x81bd: ac3, rate=48000Hz, bitrate=448000 Francais (AC3) (5.0 ch)
[ac3 @ 000002985da1e740] frame sync error
[23:55:49] scan: audio 0x80bd: ac3, rate=48000Hz, bitrate=448000 čeština (AC3) (5.1 ch)
[23:55:49] scan: 10 previews, 720x576, 25.000 fps, autocrop = 72/74/0/0, aspect 16:9, PAR 64:45
[23:55:49] libhb: scan thread found 1 valid title(s)
[23:55:49] starting job
[23:55:49] Auto Passthru: allowed codecs are AAC, AC3, E-AC3, TrueHD, DTS, DTS-HD, MP3, FLAC
[23:55:49] Auto Passthru: fallback is AC3
[23:55:49] Auto Passthru: using AC3 Passthru for track 1
[23:55:49] job configuration:
[23:55:49]  * source
[23:55:49]    + C:\Konverze\Video\Vstupy\DVD\Četník ze Saint Tropez
[23:55:49]    + title 1, chapter(s) 1 to 12
[23:55:49]  * destination
[23:55:49]    + C:\Konverze\Video\Výstupy\Handbrake\Četník ze Saint Tropez.mp4
[23:55:49]    + container: MPEG-4 (libavformat)
[23:55:49]  * video track
[23:55:49]    + decoder: mpeg2video
[23:55:49]      + bitrate 9800 kbps
[23:55:49]    + filters
[23:55:49]      + Framerate Shaper (mode=0)
[23:55:49]        + frame rate: same as source (around 25.000 fps)
[23:55:49]      + Crop and Scale (width=720:height=430:crop-top=72:crop-bottom=74:crop-left=0:crop-right=0)
[23:55:49]        + source: 720 * 576, crop (72/74/0/0): 720 * 430, scale: 720 * 430
[23:55:49]    + Output geometry
[23:55:49]      + storage dimensions: 720 x 430
[23:55:49]      + pixel aspect ratio: 64 : 45
[23:55:49]      + display dimensions: 1024 x 430
[23:55:49]    + encoder: H.265 (libx265)
[23:55:49]      + preset:  placebo
[23:55:49]      + tune:    psnr
[23:55:49]      + profile: main
[23:55:49]      + bitrate: 1280 kbps, pass: 1
[23:55:49]  * audio track 1
[23:55:49]    + decoder: čeština (AC3) (5.1 ch) (track 1, id 0x80bd)
[23:55:49]      + bitrate: 448 kbps, samplerate: 48000 Hz
[23:55:49]    + AC3 Passthru
libdvdnav: Using dvdnav version 5.0.1
libdvdread: Encrypted DVD support unavailable.
libdvdread: Can't open C:\Konverze\Video\Vstupy\DVD\Četník ze Saint Tropez for reading
libdvdread: Device C:\Konverze\Video\Vstupy\DVD\Četník ze Saint Tropez inaccessible, CSS authentication not available.
libdvdnav: Unable to open device file C:\Konverze\Video\Vstupy\DVD\Četník ze Saint Tropez.
libdvdnav: DVD disk reports itself with Region mask 0x00000000. Regions: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
libdvdread: Encrypted DVD support unavailable.
libdvdread: Can't open C:\Konverze\Video\Vstupy\DVD\Četník ze Saint Tropez for reading
libdvdread: Device C:\Konverze\Video\Vstupy\DVD\Četník ze Saint Tropez inaccessible, CSS authentication not available.
libdvdnav: DVD disk reports itself with Region mask 0x00000000. Regions: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
[23:55:49] sync: expecting 142817 video frames
x265 [info]: HEVC encoder version 2.1
x265 [info]: build info [Windows][GCC 5.4.0][64 bit] 8bit
x265 [info]: using cpu capabilities: MMX2 SSE2Fast SSSE3 SSE4.2 AVX AVX2 FMA3 LZCNT BMI2
x265 [info]: Main profile, Level-3 (Main tier)
x265 [info]: Thread pool created using 16 threads
x265 [info]: Slices                              : 1
x265 [info]: frame threads / pool features       : 5 / wpp(7 rows)
x265 [info]: Coding QT: max CU size, min CU size : 64 / 8
x265 [info]: Residual QT: max TU size, max depth : 32 / 4 inter / 4 intra
x265 [info]: ME / range / subpel / merge         : star / 92 / 5 / 5
x265 [info]: Keyframe min / max / scenecut       : 25 / 250 / 40
x265 [info]: Lookahead / bframes / badapt        : 60 / 8 / 2
x265 [info]: b-pyramid / weightp / weightb       : 1 / 1 / 1
x265 [info]: References / ref-limit  cu / depth  : 5 / off / off
x265 [info]: AQ: mode / str / qg-size / cu-tree  : 1 / 0.0 / 32 / 1
x265 [info]: Rate Control / qCompress            : ABR-1280 kbps / 0.60
x265 [info]: tools: rect amp rd=6 rdoq=2 tskip signhide tmvp b-intra
x265 [info]: tools: strong-intra-smoothing deblock sao stats-write
[23:55:49] sync: first pts audio 0x80bd is 0
[23:55:49] sync: first pts video is 720
[23:55:49] sync: "Chapter 1" (1) at frame 1 time 720
[04:02:48] sync: "Chapter 2" (2) at frame 10934 time 39359520
[10:02:15] sync: "Chapter 3" (3) at frame 27730 time 99825120
Can you please give me some advice how to set up HandBrake to use the full potential of the cpu while rendering just one video? Thank you.
Raziel-CZ
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2017 11:40 am

Re: HandBrake works only 25% on Ryzen?

Post by Raziel-CZ »

ashleylai87 wrote: Tue Mar 07, 2017 3:00 am --pmode
--pme

Use above.
No effect. :|
User avatar
JohnAStebbins
HandBrake Team
Posts: 5583
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 7:21 pm

Re: HandBrake works only 25% on Ryzen?

Post by JohnAStebbins »

There may be helpful information in this doom9 thread
http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=174383
Raziel-CZ
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2017 11:40 am

Re: HandBrake works only 25% on Ryzen?

Post by Raziel-CZ »

OK. Now same effect on my Ci7 (4 cores) with new version of HandBrake (1.0.7). "Good work"... :-/
Post Reply