Issue transcoding Video_TS file

HandBrake for Windows support
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
cvrband

Issue transcoding Video_TS file

Post by cvrband »

I've been using handbrake for several years and just recently started having issues with transcoding Video_TS files. After only a few seconds of encoding, it shows the file to be finished. When checking the file in the saved destination, it shows to only be 4Kb rather than ~1Gb. No errors are displayed during the process.

Running Windows 10 - 64 bit with the latest version of HandBrake 1.0.1

Code: Select all

https://app.box.com/embed_widget_preview?shared_name=32688s642g6iuwn5wsjtdw8lju5gfzmw&direction=ASC&theme=dark&width=500&height=400
mduell
Veteran User

Re: Issue transcoding Video_TS file

Post by mduell »

Whatever you ripped with did a bad job or the disk is scratched.

Try MakeMKV.
cvrband

Post by cvrband »

Thanks for the reply. I used the latest version of AnyDVD to rip and have used AnyDVD and Handbrake together for the past several years with no issues until recently (past month - 2 DVD's). I used the same Video_TS files ripped by AnyDVD with a trial version of DVDfab and DVDfab encoded the file perfectly, so, I don't think it was scratched or ripped improperly. I typically check for scratches prior to ripping. I'll admit that I'm not very sophisticated with all of this, so, from what I presented makes you think it was scratched or a bad rip job? Any other suggestions?
mduell
Veteran User

Post by mduell »

DVDfab may tolerate errors HB does not. My suggestion is to try MakeMKV.
ddwrt

Post by ddwrt »

cvrband wrote:I used the same Video_TS files ripped by AnyDVD with a trial version of DVDfab and DVDfab encoded the file perfectly, so, I don't think it was scratched or ripped improperly.