uncondensed LPCM audio?

HandBrake for Windows support
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
Post Reply
unclebubbies
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 2:01 pm

uncondensed LPCM audio?

Post by unclebubbies » Fri Oct 10, 2014 1:35 pm

When ripping a blu-ray backup that has an uncondensed LPCM track what audio selection do I choose to get an exact duplicate of the 5.1 surround sound uncompressed for a MKV file? I've tried autopass thru but it downsized the audio to compressed AC3?

User avatar
Rodeo
HandBrake Team
Posts: 12160
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:55 pm

Re: uncondensed LPCM audio?

Post by Rodeo » Fri Oct 10, 2014 2:04 pm

Nope, the best you can do is re-encode to FLAC.

musicvid
Veteran User
Posts: 3276
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2009 1:19 am

Re: uncondensed LPCM audio?

Post by musicvid » Fri Oct 10, 2014 2:32 pm

You could demux the original audio and add it back later on. Several ways to do this outside of Handbrake.
The drawback is the sync may not hold, esp. if your BluRay was less than pristine.

Smithcraft
Veteran User
Posts: 2691
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 8:04 pm

Re: uncondensed LPCM audio?

Post by Smithcraft » Fri Oct 10, 2014 7:32 pm

If you follow musicvid's advice, you would need to check the encode log to see if there were any frames skipped during the encode to see if you would be able to mux the source audio back in.

SC

musicvid
Veteran User
Posts: 3276
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2009 1:19 am

Re: uncondensed LPCM audio?

Post by musicvid » Fri Oct 10, 2014 9:32 pm

Exactly.

Post Reply