Page 1 of 1

Why can't I set a Target Size when converting a video?

Posted: Tue Aug 05, 2014 10:24 am
by riahc3
I see older versions of Handbrake allowing to set a Target Size. Im trying that with HandBrake 0.9.9 but I cant see it.

How can I do it?

Re: Why can't I set a Target Size when converting a video?

Posted: Tue Aug 05, 2014 12:23 pm
by TedJ
You can't, target size was removed several releases back as it was temperamental and prone to error. You can gain the same functionality using average bitrate encoding in conjunction with one of the many online bitrate calculators.

Please search before posting in future, as this topic has been covered many, many times.

Re: Why can't I set a Target Size when converting a video?

Posted: Tue Aug 05, 2014 3:45 pm
by vid.user
I can't believe people are still asking this question......

Actually, if the OP is willing, please tell us 'why' you want to get to a specific size?

Re: Why can't I set a Target Size when converting a video?

Posted: Mon Aug 11, 2014 6:43 pm
by randomreuben
@vid.user

The OP wants what the OP wants. Wanting a 2 GB target encode isn't a character flaw. Maybe the OP likes to keep movies on a 2 GB USB stick? Who knows? Who cares?

As for your statement "I can't believe..." Look at how most video encoding was done within this decade. AutoGordianKnot, DVDFab, and HandBrake offered users a target size or a target bitrate. It's a different philosophy to encoding videos. HandBrake has switched to the RF method, which is a more efficient method, but the constant bitrate method was alive and well not ten years ago.

HandBrake didn't remove Target Size because it was so unspeakably bad. It's because this feature had some OCD users who gave the developers grief over going +/- some percent over the target size and it was a waste of resources to keep working on it.

Target Size encoding isn't the same as asking for instructions on flaying kittens. If HandBrake removed features for being terrible, then we would not have the ability to reduce videos down to RF 50. So it's not because Target Size encodes are the worst, all right? Let's stop pretending like it is.

Re: Why can't I set a Target Size when converting a video?

Posted: Mon Aug 11, 2014 11:38 pm
by musicvid
Bitrate (Mbps) x Time (sec) x .125 = File Size (MB).

"Bitrate" means audio and video bitrate together.

That's all anyone needs to use abr in an encoder.

Re: Why can't I set a Target Size when converting a video?

Posted: Tue Aug 12, 2014 12:59 am
by vid.user
@ randomreuben

My reply was more in reference to the same question being asked over and over again, not so much to the content of the question. Thanks for the history lesson but no need, I was there. Good day to you.