CLI Automation in Windows

HandBrake for Windows support
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
Layne

CLI Automation in Windows

Post by Layne »

I apologize in advance if I missed this info and if I did, could someone please point me to it... Total noob here.

I am interested in automating Handbrake as much as possible. I delved into the CLI and understand it a bit. What I have been unable to do is truly automate Handbrake.

What I would like to do is to design a script to automate the following functionality:
1. Instert DVD
2. Click on script and have Handbrake rip at specified settings to a specified folder
I would also like to have each successive rip have its own name, yet didnt see that option in the CLI.

I have a situation where I will have 8-10 DVDs I need to rip each day for streaming web content and I need to automate the process as mucch as possible so other people can do it with little to no interaction.

On a side note, "Set current options as program defaults" does not seem to work... I have tried using it to save settings both before and after a rip and the settings are not saved when I reopen Handbrake.

Any help is greatly appreciated.
s55
HandBrake Team

Post by s55 »

On a side note, "Set current options as program defaults" does not seem to work... I have tried using it to save settings both before and after a rip and the settings are not saved when I reopen Handbrake.
You need to enable it, Tools Menu > Options
Layne

Post by Layne »

sr55 wrote:
You need to enable it, Tools Menu > Options
Thanks. That will help a lot. I looked at that setting probably 10x and it never even crossed my mind that it was needed. Sigh... :roll:
Layne

Post by Layne »

Is there a way to force Handbrake not to overwrite files with the same name or ask to change file name when choosing destination?

Thanks.
s55
HandBrake Team

Post by s55 »