Installation problem (does not recognize .NET version)

HandBrake for Windows support
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
Post Reply
dusanmal
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2007 7:50 pm

Installation problem (does not recognize .NET version)

Post by dusanmal »

Hello,

this is my first attempt to install Handbrake. Version 0.8.5.1b, Windows Graphical.

I have prerequisite programs installed. .NET version 2.0.7045 SP2.
I have other programs depending on .NET Framework, and they all work fine
for long time now...

However, Handbrake installer immediately quits with the message:

"Handbrtake cannot be installed on systems with .NET Framework smaller than 2.0"

How can I avoid this?

Thanks!
dusanmal
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2007 7:50 pm

How I have solved it (but not good practice)

Post by dusanmal »

I have resolved the problem above by downgrading my .NET version! Essentially I removed service packs down to the original .NET 2.0.5 version. Handbrake install worked fine afterwards. But, this is not a good practice as SP's are there for a reason...
lucky3085
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2007 12:59 am

Post by lucky3085 »

I got the same error, but I don't even know how to change/fix/update my .net version! Where do you access this?
Lant
Regular User
Posts: 70
Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 5:33 pm

Post by Lant »

What you can also do (with 7zip not sure if you can do with other extractors) is right click on the .msi file and click extract. Then you can run the Handbrake program, this bypasses the .net and the ram check.
lucky3085
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2007 12:59 am

Post by lucky3085 »

Lant wrote:What you can also do (with 7zip not sure if you can do with other extractors) is right click on the .msi file and click extract. Then you can run the Handbrake program, this bypasses the .net and the ram check.
That's not an option for the Windows version, only install! Thank you, though.

Does anyone know how to access/change the .NET version?
Lant
Regular User
Posts: 70
Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 5:33 pm

Post by Lant »

Ah sorry, got a bit confused there.
Post Reply