Handbrake is bursting my CPU

HandBrake for Windows support
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
bigbang

Handbrake is bursting my CPU

Post by bigbang »

Hallo,
I am new with Handbrake and I am having a problem with the CPU usage of the programm. When I start ripping a dvd all 4 cpu's in my computer go up to 100% and I have to cancel. Is there something I can do about this?
By the way I am using windows 7 professionell 64 bit.
Thanks for helping
JohnAStebbins
HandBrake Team

Re: Handbrake is bursting my CPU

Post by JohnAStebbins »

Add 'threads=2' (or whatever value you like) in the advanced settings box.

By design, HandBrake uses as much cpu as it can get it grubby mitts on. If that makes your machine sluggish, take it up with your operating system vendor. A good scheduler won't do that.
bigbang

Post by bigbang »

Add 'threads=2' (or whatever value you like) in the advanced settings box.
What does that do? And how do I enter it? How do seperate it from the rest of the code? Sorry if my questions appear to be a little stupid
hunterk
Bright Spark User

Post by hunterk »

like JohnAStebbins said, HandBrake will grab as much of your cpu is available, though I believe it is supposed to run it at a lower priority than other processes, so it shouldn't be freezing your machine or anything.