Confused About Handbrake Compression Sizes

HandBrake for Windows support
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
xclmr

Confused About Handbrake Compression Sizes

Post by xclmr »

I have been ripping my Blu-ray's and DVD's for backup for a few days now. I'm totally new to ripping Blu-ray's and using Handbrake as well as MakeMKV. Right now I am using MakeMKV to rip the Blu-ray to my hard drive as an mkv file. Then I'm using Handbrake to compress it and convert it to an MP4 file.

I did a lot of reading over the past several days to try and determine what settings I want to use in Handbrake to compress my video rips. I am going for the highest quality I can get but I also have a pretty huge collection to back up so I don't want the files to be too large. Basically the point right before most people can actually notice a difference in quality is where I want them to be compressed down to. After reading a lot of information and seeing that basically everyone has their own opinion on what the best settings are for Handbrake I just decided to go with the "High Profile" preset and not changing any of the settings after clicking it. The settings seemed similar to what a lot of people suggested and I assumed High Profile would mean high quality as well.

The Blu-ray rips that are compressed with this setting look good on my computer screen but what really confuses me is the file size of the output file after Handbrake has run its course. For example I ripped the movie Benjamin Button and the original mkv file is 41.7GB. After running it through Handbrake in the High Profile setting it ends up as an MP4 that is only 3.86GB. I expected this file to be at least 10GB if not 20GB. I just don't understand how a 41.7GB movie can be compressed down to 3.86GB and still be considered high quality.