Advice on Presets

HandBrake for Windows support
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
tkc100

Advice on Presets

Post by tkc100 »

I am new to HandBrake but after spending many frustrating hours with Doctor Divx and the Divx Converter I am certainly glad to find it. I have encoded several movie now without a hitch.
I do however have a question that I am hoping someone with more experience can assist me with. Yesterday I encoded a movie using the mkv container, once with the "normal preset" and then again with the "high profile" preset for comparison.
Here are the results:
1 title set playing time 2h 17mn
VIDEO_TS Title set = 4.36 GB (4,687,587,328 bytes)
Normal = 1.29 GB (1,396,369,446 bytes) 30% the size of the original
Encoding time 5 hours 9 minutes 47 seconds
High Profile = 1.56 GB (1,681,741,562 bytes) 36% the size of the original
Encoding time 10 hours 48 minutes 37 seconds 10.81027777 hours
It took 5.65 hours longer to encode the high profile
or 105 % longer
Does this look normal?
There really isn't much difference in size.
Is the quality of the "high profile" really worth the added time?
Thanks!
ascianti

Re: Advice on Presets

Post by ascianti »

2x longer? Yes, that's normal
300mb larger? possibly, high-profile does turn on ac3 pass-through, so if you have a really big ac3 audio file, it can really bump up the resulting video size, however that on its own seems unlikely, unless the video you encoded is just perfectly suited to the settings in normal and gives basically no size decrease with high profile (seems unlikely).

You can look at the resulting files and see which one you think has better quality, they both should be basically the same (as by default they both use the constant quality setting).
king otoss

Post by king otoss »