Inconsistent Results with 0.9.4

HandBrake for Windows support
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
Post Reply
ACraigL
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2009 4:28 pm

Inconsistent Results with 0.9.4

Post by ACraigL » Mon Nov 30, 2009 7:02 pm

Hi,

Great tool. Thank you for continuing to develop this.
I've had inconsistent and poor results with 0.9.4 thus far. I don't have a log to post -- for some reason when I call the CLI via dvrmsToolbox it never gets created -- but I have enough trys and fails to roll back to 0.9.3. I don't know if this post will be helpful or not, but I'd figured it would be worth documenting my experience. If you have any suggestions of something to try, I would be happy to do so.

1. When using the "iPhone & iPod Touch" preset, my audio is now out of sync with the video (not so in 0.9.3). Encoding mpeg2 files converted from .dvr-ms; ATSC HD. AMD 5200+ dual core if that matters.
2. The --preset option did not work for custom presets. I created a duplicate of the iPhone preset with a DRC=2 called (AndyiPod), but the app called the default preset instead. When I used "iPhone & iPod Touch" it worked fine (but out of sync, per above).
3. I manually entered values set from 0.9.3 (since presets did not work) but the result was very stuttered video and *slightly* out of sync video.
4. Where did the query option go? I wanted to generate a string instead of the presets (since I could not get presets to work), but it only offered a partial string as far as I could tell.

I'm back and fine with 0.9.3, but the speed improvements are so great in the current version I would like to get the above resolved, if possible. Thanks!

User avatar
s55
HandBrake Team
Posts: 9519
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 1:05 pm

Re: Inconsistent Results with 0.9.4

Post by s55 » Mon Nov 30, 2009 7:14 pm

2. Never has. --Preset is for built-in persets only. The CLI does not have the ability to parse the WinGui's user preset file.
3. Query editor is off by default. You can turn it on in options. It generates a full query minus the executable name.

Everything else needs a log. The CLI uses standard output/error so you have to pipe this to a file if you want an actual log file.

Append: > file.txt 2>&1 to the end. You'll get a blank CLI window, but the contents will be in the file.

ACraigL
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2009 4:28 pm

Re: Inconsistent Results with 0.9.4

Post by ACraigL » Mon Nov 30, 2009 10:03 pm

Got it, thanks. Overlooked the query tab option -- sorry about that. I'm encoding now and will upload a log shortly.

ACraigL
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2009 4:28 pm

Re: Inconsistent Results with 0.9.4

Post by ACraigL » Mon Nov 30, 2009 10:43 pm

Log for audio sync issue:
http://handbrake.fr/pastebin/pastebin.php?show=1009

Let me know if you need anything else.

jbrjake
Veteran User
Posts: 4805
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 1:38 am

Re: Inconsistent Results with 0.9.4

Post by jbrjake » Tue Dec 01, 2009 4:16 pm

The same source file encodes in sync in 0.9.3? Because your log indicates there are problems with the source file.

ACraigL
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2009 4:28 pm

Re: Inconsistent Results with 0.9.4

Post by ACraigL » Tue Dec 01, 2009 4:32 pm

Correct. No issues under 0.9.3. I've been using the previous version for 8+ months issue free. FWIW, the process is:

1. DVR-MS fie recorded via Visa Media Center
2. Convert DVR-MS > Commercial-Free DVR-MS
3. Convert Commercial-Free DVR-MS to MPEG
4. Convert MPEG to MP4 via Handbrake

All of this is processed using dvrmsToolbox. Flawless with 0.9.3.

User avatar
Rodeo
HandBrake Team
Posts: 12160
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:55 pm

Re: Inconsistent Results with 0.9.4

Post by Rodeo » Tue Dec 01, 2009 4:40 pm

ACraigL wrote:Correct. No issues under 0.9.3. I've been using the previous version for 8+ months issue free. FWIW, the process is:

1. DVR-MS fie recorded via Visa Media Center
2. Convert DVR-MS > Commercial-Free DVR-MS
3. Convert Commercial-Free DVR-MS to MPEG
4. Convert MPEG to MP4 via Handbrake

All of this is processed using dvrmsToolbox. Flawless with 0.9.3.
Could you please provide a log of a successful encode of the same source with 0.9.3 for comparison?

ACraigL
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2009 4:28 pm

Re: Inconsistent Results with 0.9.4

Post by ACraigL » Wed Dec 02, 2009 1:09 am

Here's an 0.9.3 log with the same source:
http://handbrake.fr/pastebin/pastebin.php?show=1012

jbrjake
Veteran User
Posts: 4805
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 1:38 am

Re: Inconsistent Results with 0.9.4

Post by jbrjake » Wed Dec 02, 2009 2:34 pm

A short sample of a source demonstrating this issue could be helpful.

ACraigL
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2009 4:28 pm

Re: Inconsistent Results with 0.9.4

Post by ACraigL » Wed Dec 02, 2009 5:08 pm

I can try to upload something this evening, but this is currently a 22-minute show. If I alter it, it may affect the test.
Was there anything worth noting in the new log?

ACraigL
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2009 4:28 pm

Re: Inconsistent Results with 0.9.4

Post by ACraigL » Sun Jan 17, 2010 5:47 am

Sorry to dig up this old thread, but I finally got it working. The change was to make the framerate 29.97. It defaulted to same as source in the iPhone profilem but once I changed this setting, the audio became sync'd wth the video. Happy days! Thanks again for a great tool!

creamyhorror
Regular User
Posts: 134
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 2:00 pm

Re: Inconsistent Results with 0.9.4

Post by creamyhorror » Mon Jan 18, 2010 2:25 am

ACraigL wrote:Correct. No issues under 0.9.3. I've been using the previous version for 8+ months issue free. FWIW, the process is:

1. DVR-MS fie recorded via Visa Media Center
2. Convert DVR-MS > Commercial-Free DVR-MS
3. Convert Commercial-Free DVR-MS to MPEG
4. Convert MPEG to MP4 via Handbrake
Is that 2, or even 3, encoding processes I see?

User avatar
Rodeo
HandBrake Team
Posts: 12160
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:55 pm

Re: Inconsistent Results with 0.9.4

Post by Rodeo » Mon Jan 18, 2010 2:28 am

creamyhorror wrote:
ACraigL wrote:Correct. No issues under 0.9.3. I've been using the previous version for 8+ months issue free. FWIW, the process is:

1. DVR-MS fie recorded via Visa Media Center
2. Convert DVR-MS > Commercial-Free DVR-MS
3. Convert Commercial-Free DVR-MS to MPEG
4. Convert MPEG to MP4 via Handbrake
Is that 2, or even 3, encoding processes I see?
Not necessarily. Steps 2 and 3 likely only involve remuxing, not transcoding.

Post Reply