Quality in HandBrake

HandBrake for Windows support
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
Post Reply
MaXiM
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2009 7:23 am

Quality in HandBrake

Post by MaXiM » Sun May 17, 2009 5:12 pm

I understood why I was dissatisfied by quality of encoding your program in Xvid.
Business in that is not used support of BVOP which quality considerably rises at.
If it is possible do possibility of choice even. Also Qpel touches but it already only as an
additional option.

cvk_b
Veteran User
Posts: 527
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 2:11 am

Re: Quality in HandBrake

Post by cvk_b » Mon May 18, 2009 1:00 am

google translation japanese done english so is?

User avatar
Rodeo
HandBrake Team
Posts: 12234
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:55 pm

Re: Quality in HandBrake

Post by Rodeo » Mon May 18, 2009 8:20 am

cvk_b wrote:google translation japanese done english so is?
No, from russian.

MaXiM
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2009 7:23 am

Re: Quality in HandBrake

Post by MaXiM » Mon May 18, 2009 1:37 pm

Do an option to encode with support of DVOP for Xvid
And on possibility option of Qpel

ccjensen
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2008 11:09 am

Re: Quality in HandBrake

Post by ccjensen » Mon May 18, 2009 3:55 pm

I understand that these are features you desire, but remember that the developers implement features they themselves desire and use. As far as I can tell, few to none of them use XVID; H264 is where it's at yo 8)
You might want to reconsider xvid, or start looking for another tool which hits closer to the target!

User avatar
Rodeo
HandBrake Team
Posts: 12234
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:55 pm

Re: Quality in HandBrake

Post by Rodeo » Mon May 18, 2009 4:44 pm

MaXiM wrote:Do an option to encode with support of DVOP for Xvid
And on possibility option of Qpel
XviD is being removed from HandBrake altogether.

jbrjake
Veteran User
Posts: 4805
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 1:38 am

Re: Quality in HandBrake

Post by jbrjake » Mon May 18, 2009 7:35 pm

As I've explained many times before, this is not happening because Xvid neglects, as far as I'm aware, to make this easy for interface developers. You know what sucks? Having to write every individual parameter of an encode and recode them whenever the API changes. Without an equivalent to x264_param_parse() this would never happen even if we weren't dropping Xvid.

Post Reply