Ampere nVenc

HandBrake for Windows support
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
Post Reply
brellyn
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2016 9:58 pm

Ampere nVenc

Post by brellyn »

Description of problem or question:
in 2017, I posted a question about using my GPU for encoding as opposed to my CPU. I was told..
by Ritsuka » Wed Mar 22, 2017 12:09 pm

Nope, GPUs are horrible at video encoding.
So, I upgraded my CPU and stuck to x264. Eventually I upgraded from Maxwell to Pascal, but haven't bother with Turing., With Ampere starting to make it's way out to the real world (slowly), Does the GPU statement still hold true? Has anyone done any testing of the new platform? All of the video's on YouTube are all concentrated on gaming performance and they're ignoring the encoding performance of the card.

Steps to reproduce the problem (If Applicable):

No steps, just an inquiry.

HandBrake version (e.g., 1.0.0):

1.3.3 (2020061300)

Operating system and version (e.g., Ubuntu 16.04 LTS, macOS 10.13 High Sierra, Windows 10 Creators Update):

Windows 10 - 2004
rollin_eng
Veteran User
Posts: 3564
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 11:06 pm

Re: Ampere nVenc

Post by rollin_eng »

mduell
Veteran User
Posts: 7226
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:54 pm

Re: Ampere nVenc

Post by mduell »

The hardware encoders still prioritize speed over all else, so you can pick your tradeoff between quality and size, you can't have both. No notable improvements in where that curve sits in the last year or two.
User avatar
s55
HandBrake Team
Posts: 9831
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 1:05 pm

Re: Ampere nVenc

Post by s55 »

The NVEnc engine is the same as turning in this case. Turing has some improvements over pascal but is still an encoder that's optimised towards speed.
Post Reply