White Page!

HandBrake for Windows support
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
Post Reply
sari
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2018 10:43 pm

White Page!

Post by sari » Mon Jun 18, 2018 10:55 pm

Description of problem or question:
When I start Handbrake, all I get is a white page



Steps to reproduce the problem (If Applicable):
Click on Handbrake.exe



HandBrake version (e.g., 1.0.0):
1.1.1



Operating system and version (e.g., Ubuntu 16.04 LTS, macOS 10.13 High Sierra, Windows 10 Creators Update):
Windows 10 Creators Update
Last update - KB4284835 (OS Build 17134.112)



HandBrake Activity Log ***required*** (see How-to get an activity log)

Code: Select all



User avatar
s55
HandBrake Team
Posts: 9268
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 1:05 pm

Re: White Page!

Post by s55 » Tue Jun 19, 2018 9:13 am

First, clear C:\Users\%username%\AppData\Roaming\HandBrake
This will reset HandBrake, user presets and queue back to defaults. (Maybe create a backup first if you've changed anything)

If that fails, run the .NET repair tool https://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/downloa ... x?id=30135 see if it comes up with anything.

herbert
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2018 2:13 pm

Re: White Page!

Post by herbert » Sun Jul 01, 2018 2:15 pm

I've been having the same problem since the Windows update in May.

Clearing the Handbrake folder in AppData and .NET repair did not make any difference.

tahitiangabriel
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2018 5:31 am

Re: White Page!

Post by tahitiangabriel » Wed Jul 04, 2018 5:38 am

Same for me with Windows 10, version 1803.
I tried with older releases and the nightly build. They all have the same behavior.

herbert
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2018 2:13 pm

Re: White Page!

Post by herbert » Thu Jul 05, 2018 2:55 am

Yep, as soon as 1803 installed, Handbrake stopped.

tried uninstalling, reinstalling clearing appData, running .NET report tool. Makes no difference, just get a White window with 'Handbrake' in the Title.

evgeni.rond3
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2018 5:22 pm

Re: White Page!

Post by evgeni.rond3 » Sat Jul 07, 2018 5:46 pm

Same thing here, since I installed the latest Win 10 1803 the application has become white and can not be used.
But even though you do not see anything, it seems that the various buttons do function, with random clicking sometimes messages from the program appears.

User avatar
s55
HandBrake Team
Posts: 9268
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 1:05 pm

Re: White Page!

Post by s55 » Sat Jul 07, 2018 6:16 pm

Might want to try re-installing graphics drivers, see if this helps.

evgeni.rond3
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2018 5:22 pm

Re: White Page!

Post by evgeni.rond3 » Sat Jul 07, 2018 6:39 pm

I deleted the app and reinstalled, did not help.
I checked the 2 versions (Nightly and Standard Edition), both of which did not work.
I updated the graphics card drivers, did not help.
I ran the .NET repair tool and it did not help either.

herbert
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2018 2:13 pm

Re: White Page!

Post by herbert » Wed Jul 11, 2018 11:57 am

as per 'evgeni.rond3'. I tried all that too and it makes not difference.

evgeni.rond3
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2018 5:22 pm

Re: White Page!

Post by evgeni.rond3 » Fri Jul 27, 2018 2:20 pm

has somebody found a solution for this?

herbert
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2018 2:13 pm

Re: White Page!

Post by herbert » Fri Aug 03, 2018 10:27 am

Still not working for me.

I have 2 computers with this problem.
One is a Dell Optiplex 9010 Desktop, the other is a HP Elitebook 8560p Laptop.
Both were working fine until the windows update in May.

gadgetgeek
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2014 11:12 pm

Re: White Page!

Post by gadgetgeek » Thu Aug 09, 2018 7:38 pm

I have been reporting this as a problem when using remote control software TeamViewer for a while now, and we have discovered what is causing the issue (for me, anyways).

The monitor is turned off. The graphic driver and Windows have decided not to render this window. So the remote control software only shows a white window where I should instead see HandBrake. If I turn the monitor on everything works fine. It seems my graphic card is detecting the lack of output and limiting the work it needs to do.

I can RDP to the computer instead and it works fine for me then.

herbert
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2018 2:13 pm

Re: White Page!

Post by herbert » Thu Oct 04, 2018 1:42 pm

The recent update Intel HD Graphics driver has finally fixed this problem for me.

Driver Date:16/08/2018
Driver Version: 10.18.10.5059

User avatar
Rodeo
HandBrake Team
Posts: 11957
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:55 pm

Re: White Page!

Post by Rodeo » Thu Oct 04, 2018 1:43 pm

:D

Post Reply