MKV Passthru ?

HandBrake for Windows support
Forum rules
Activity Log is required for support requests. See Must Read: How To Get Questions Answered on These Forums for details
Post Reply
db1964
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 11:05 am

MKV Passthru ?

Post by db1964 » Sun Jul 16, 2017 10:01 pm

Please detail your question or problem in as much detail as possible:
I'm just wondering if it is possible with Handbrake to convert an ISO library of DVD's and BluRay's to mkv files with forced subtitles but retaining the original 'quality' i.e without any loss of birate or cropping etc . Is there a profile for that or could one be defined ?

Tell us about your environment. What version of HandBrake? What version of Windows are you running. etc.
Intel i7 , Handbrake 1.0.7, Windows 10

If there was any exception or error displayed, please copy it and paste it here:
N/A
Please include the scan or encode log:
N/A

Code: Select all

 Paste a log of the scan or encode between these code brackets, or use a pastebin website and provide us with the URL it gives you. 
 Logs are required for all support requests.
N/A

mduell
Veteran User
Posts: 5521
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:54 pm

Re: MKV Passthru ?

Post by mduell » Sun Jul 16, 2017 11:10 pm

No, you want MakeMKV.

db1964
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 11:05 am

Re: MKV Passthru ?

Post by db1964 » Mon Jul 17, 2017 11:10 am

Is there a reason why it can't be done in Handbrake ? Is it not just a case of the right profile ?

rollin_eng
Veteran User
Posts: 2194
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 11:06 pm

Re: MKV Passthru ?

Post by rollin_eng » Mon Jul 17, 2017 11:21 am

HB is a video encoder thus the need to encode the video.

User avatar
Rodeo
HandBrake Team
Posts: 11604
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:55 pm

Re: MKV Passthru ?

Post by Rodeo » Mon Jul 17, 2017 12:44 pm

Yeah, HB's underlying infrastructure is entirely built around video re-encoding -- you can pass some audio formats through but video passthrough would require a major rewrite.

Post Reply