V1.0.7 crashes MKV-->HEVC (H.265(x265)

HandBrake for Windows support
Forum rules
Activity Log is required for support requests. See Must Read: How To Get Questions Answered on These Forums for details
Post Reply
Big-Gee
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2017 5:03 pm

V1.0.7 crashes MKV-->HEVC (H.265(x265)

Post by Big-Gee » Fri Apr 21, 2017 12:14 am

Hi All...

I am new to Handbrake, its terminology and encoding video, and this is basically my first posting on this site.
I apologize up front for the length of it but want to give as much info as possible to you in order to perhaps be able to answer my questions.

Am trying to encode a 32GB Blu-Ray rip via Makemkv to a smaller HEVC file 1080p 30 fps, using Matroksa preset H.265 1080p 30 in Handbrake.
About 2 hours in of a projected 5 hour job, (at about 43% encoding) I get a handbrake stopped working message box. 2 options
1. debug or
2. close.

Hitting close ends the Handbrake session. 2 times I did this and had to start over.
Hitting debug (3rd time trying after changing some options on the video tab before restarting), I get message that debugger is not installed on my PC (which wouldn’t do anything for me as I am not a developer), but closing this message I am returned to the handbrake session that issued the stopped message.

I hit pause, then Start, and it seemed to pick up where it left off and ran for another 3 hours and apparently finished.
The final file size is 1,210,639 KB down from 32,114,775 KB.

Q1. Is this a reasonable file size reduction for Blu-Ray 1080P 16 x 9 2.40:1 DTS 5.1 Digital Master Audio?
It appears that the file plays OK in VLC on my computer and OK thru PLEX on my TV.

Q2. It it reasonable to assume that Handbrake was able to recover from the error that crashed it after I hit the start button again?


Please refer to the word document at this location on my one drive: https://1drv.ms/w/s!Aq4Vbc8aGsdzjVspeQoxQa7tMekB

for screen shots of settings for the rest of this post in order to answer questions.

In Handbrake Screen shot #1, under the picture tab, source is 1920 x 1080. Width shows as 1920 but height is 800 as opposed to 1080. this results in large black bars top and bottom and does not fill a 16:9 screen on TV as I would expect it to if full 1080p. I expect this is because of the automatic cropping setting as seen in the first screen shot where top and bottom show 140 as values.

Q3. why does Handbrake set these values for cropping when it sees the input in the source as 1920 x 1080 but changes the height to 800 resulting in the black bars on top and bottom?

If I zero them out then the height will show as 1080. In this case I did not do that because on the first 2 attempts I did zero them out, and Handbrake crashed. I thought leaving might prevent the crash but it did not.. crashed in roughly the same place, as when I tried to restart it and it finished OK with black bars.

Q4. If I zero out the cropping using Custom button and set the top and bottom to 0 then the height will show as 1080 as is in the source. I presume if I do that then I will get full height?

Q3. If I change the cropping to zero out the 140 top and bottom, does this have any detrimental effect on the encoding? Since it starts with 1920 x 1080 in the source, making the changes from 800 to 1080 shouldn't be an issue or will it be?

Screen shot # 2 shows the video tab setting which I left at the default.

Screen shot #3 Shows the Audio Tab and the settings for Audio.
Note that Handbrake picked up the DTS 5.1 but when it plays back thru PLEX it shows AAC Stereo, and not DTS5.1

Q5. based on what is shown for the audio track (DTS 5.1) which Handbrake determined based on the source file I suppose, are the rest of the settings somehow responsible for not getting DTS but only Stereo which is 2 channel?

Q6. Is the codec correct as AAC (avcodec) or should I have chosen DTS passthru or DTS HD passthru or something else from the dropdown to get the DTS 5.1 on the encoded file? ? I don't understand these at all, and is the bit rate correct or should I have changed it to something different like perhaps 256?

and finally
Q7. what is mixdown and what does it do and is this value correct or should it have been set to 5.1 channels in the drop down?


Environment: windows 10 Pro 64 bit Handbrake v1.0.7 Intel core I7 3770 @3.4GHz 24GB RAM

Error displayed: Handbrake has stopped working.

I have posted the log files here on my one drive:
https://1drv.ms/t/s!Aq4Vbc8aGsdzjVnaL2P11jXaF4Tf

Thanks very much in advance for any help you can provide.

Cheers!
Big-Gee

Big-Gee
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2017 5:03 pm

Re: V1.0.7 crashes MKV-->HEVC (H.265(x265)

Post by Big-Gee » Fri Apr 21, 2017 12:52 am

Update:

I just tried a smaller file that is sourced at 1080p and changed the picture tab from height 800 to 1080 and removed the cropping by setting top and bottom to 0. It did not make a difference. I still get the black bars at the top and bottom.

All other setting on the other tabs remained the same as above.

Cheers!

Woodstock
Veteran User
Posts: 2052
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 6:39 am

Re: V1.0.7 crashes MKV-->HEVC (H.265(x265)

Post by Woodstock » Fri Apr 21, 2017 12:34 pm

If you allow handbrake to remove the black bars, then display it on a screen that is more than 800 pixels high, your player will re-insert the black bars. If you tell handbrake NOT to remove the black bars, the player will display the full image, including the original black bars.

Any time the video is not a 16:9 aspect ratio, there will be black bars on a 16:9 display. The question is whether or not you store them in the video file.

As for the stopping in the middle of the encode, is there anything in the Windows event viewer about the application crash?

Big-Gee
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2017 5:03 pm

Re: V1.0.7 crashes MKV-->HEVC (H.265(x265)

Post by Big-Gee » Sun Apr 23, 2017 7:38 pm

Hi Woodstock..

Did not think to look there.
Were you able to access the log files on my one drive?

Going back to the event viewer, even so, found 2 errors re handbrake, did but they mean little to me.
2 errors found in short order.
I have copied the text below in order of appearance.

First error:
- System
- Provider
[ Name] .NET Runtime
- EventID 1026
[ Qualifiers] 0
Level 2
Task 0
Keywords 0x80000000000000
- TimeCreated
[ SystemTime] 2017-04-20T16:47:08.572929500Z
EventRecordID 81020
Channel Application
Computer xxxxxx-Intel1
Security
- EventData
Application: HandBrake.exe Framework Version: v4.0.30319 Description: The process was terminated due to an unhandled exception. Exception Info: exception code c0000005, exception address 00000000701CA40C


Second error :
- System
- Provider
[ Name] Application Error
- EventID 1000
[ Qualifiers] 0
Level 2
Task 100
Keywords 0x80000000000000
- TimeCreated
[ SystemTime] 2017-04-20T16:47:08.939960500Z
EventRecordID 81021
Channel Application
Computer xxxxxx-Intel1
Security

- EventData
HandBrake.exe
1.0.7.0
58ea9d2f
hb.dll
0.0.0.0
58ea9caf
c0000005
0000000000eca40c
af74
01d2b9ef59004b2a
G:\HandBrake\HandBrake.exe
G:\HandBrake\hb.dll
a1c3148e-53ca-4cd9-b093-0f135ef06a0d

Hope this helps (someone!) determine the probable cause.

BTW... I also had some questions in my original post to start this thread that if someone could answer them it would be very helpful and appreciated.

Thanks in advance for any feedback.

Cheers!
Big-Gee

Big-Gee
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2017 5:03 pm

Re: V1.0.7 crashes MKV-->HEVC (H.265(x265)

Post by Big-Gee » Sat Apr 29, 2017 11:43 pm

Hello...

I posted some additional information about this issue back on April 20th and no one responded further. Anyone have any answers for outstanding questions on this issue?

TIA

Post Reply