Encode only a few frames to test

Discussion of the HandBrake command line interface (CLI)
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
Post Reply
asdf46
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2009 10:31 pm

Encode only a few frames to test

Post by asdf46 » Fri Jan 09, 2009 10:35 pm

I want to encode some video, but I just want a few minutes of it to test. Is there an option to limit the frames to convert? My input video does not have chapters and is over 2 hours long.

Thank you,

asdf46

jjwatmyself
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2008 5:27 pm

Re: Encode only a few frames to test

Post by jjwatmyself » Sat Jan 10, 2009 12:16 am

I have not seen any options that can do that. Are there any alternate titles on the same disk that you can test with that would help?

Ex:

-t 4

asdf46
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2009 10:31 pm

Re: Encode only a few frames to test

Post by asdf46 » Sat Jan 10, 2009 12:50 am

That's a great idea, thank you.

asdf46

jbrjake
Veteran User
Posts: 4805
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 1:38 am

Re: Encode only a few frames to test

Post by jbrjake » Sat Jan 10, 2009 1:37 am

In SVN code use --stop-at-duraton, which accepts seconds as its unit, or --stop-at-pts, which accepts presentation timestamps as its unit (90,000 ticks per second).

Will get around to a --stop-at-frame function someday, but I'd really prefer to do it right and have them all be one option with two arguments, like:

--stop-at duration:90
or
--stop-at frame:1000
or
--stop-at pts:900000

...and I haven't had a chance yet.

Post Reply