Page 1 of 1

Which command line args do i need for my specific audio selection?

Posted: Mon Jan 11, 2021 9:48 pm
by mfreudenberg
Hi

Description of problem or question:

I would like to rip my BluRays and DVD with a specific set of audio tracks. I am using HandbrakeCLI integrated into ARM (https://github.com/automatic-ripping-ma ... ng-machine). What i would like to achive is the following default track setup for my output files:

1. Deu, Stereo
2. Deu, Surround (any kind of doesn't matter if 5.1 or 7.1 or else)
3. Eng, Stereo
4. Eng, Surround (same as Deu, Surround)

Steps to reproduce the problem (If Applicable):

I am using the following HandbrakeCLI parameter for recoding:

--subtitle-lang-list deu,eng --subtitle-burned --audio-lang-list deu,eng --aencoder=ca_aac,copy,ca_aac,copy --audio-copy-mask aac,ac3,eac3,truehd,dts,dtshd --audio-fallback aac --mixdown stereo,7point1,stereo,7point1

My resulting video has the following tracks (according to VLC):

1. Deu, AAC Stereo
2. Deu, DTS Audio
3. Deu, AAC Stereo
4. Deu, DTS Audio
5. Eng, AAC Stereo

I don't really understand why HandbrakeCLI selected these tracks?

My input file (Lord of the Rings extended edition) has the following audio tracks:

bd: audio id=0x711100, lang=English (DTS), 3cc=eng
bd: audio id=0x1100, lang=English (DTS-HD MA), 3cc=eng
bd: audio id=0x711101, lang=Deutsch (DTS), 3cc=deu
bd: audio id=0x1101, lang=Deutsch (DTS-HD MA), 3cc=deu
bd: audio id=0x1102, lang=English (AC3), 3cc=eng
bd: audio id=0x1103, lang=English (AC3), 3cc=eng
bd: audio id=0x1104, lang=English (AC3), 3cc=eng
bd: audio id=0x1105, lang=English (AC3), 3cc=eng

Can anybody help me get the right command line arguments?

HandBrake version (e.g., 1.0.0):

HandBrakeCLI --version
Cannot load libnvidia-encode.so.1
[22:37:01] hb_init: starting libhb thread
[22:37:01] thread 7fd629e82700 started ("libhb")
HandBrake 1.3.3

I have installed HandbrakeCLI using this repo:

Code: Select all

deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/stebbins/handbrake-releases/ubuntu focal main
Operating system and version (e.g., Ubuntu 16.04 LTS, macOS 10.13 High Sierra, Windows 10 Creators Update):

Ubuntu 20.04.1 LTS

HandBrake Activity Log ***required***

Code: Select all

I followed the instructions on the link above to get the activity log, but the folder ghb didn't contain any activity.log file.
All i could find was
ghb.pid.xxxxx
preferences.json
presets.json

Re: Which command line args do i need for my specific audio selection?

Posted: Mon Jan 11, 2021 10:52 pm
by mduell
Really can't answer this without the stderr output from HBCLI for your attempted encode.

Re: Which command line args do i need for my specific audio selection?

Posted: Tue Jan 12, 2021 12:00 pm
by rollin_eng
Activity Logs on the command line

HandBrake’s command line interface outputs to the standard streams stdout and stderr, with encode progress information routed to the former and log messages routed to the latter.

To capture HandBrake’s log messages to a file, simply redirect stderr:

HandBrakeCLI ... 2> my-activity-log.txt

Re: Which command line args do i need for my specific audio selection?

Posted: Tue Jan 12, 2021 1:40 pm
by Rodeo
If you have an audio lang list, you only specify one list of encoders (ca_aac,copy) which then gets applied to all tracks. Also, there are two behaviors with a language list: first track matching selected languages (--first-audio) or all tracks matching selected languages (--all-audio), it's possible the former is default.

Also, IIRC, HandBrake will include both the DTS and DTS-HD so you'll have to manually remove the tracks encoded from the DTS.