Trouble importing presets into CLI

Discussion of the HandBrake command line interface (CLI)
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
Post Reply
daphatty
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2016 4:59 pm

Trouble importing presets into CLI

Post by daphatty »

Having a bit of newb trouble importing a preset, which was created and exported via Handbrake GUI 1.3.3 on Windows, into my Ubuntu CLI version of Handbrake. Specifically, the command

Code: Select all

HandBrakeCLI --preset-import-file ~/path/to/preset-filename.json 
Results in

Code: Select all

Cannot load libnvidia-encode.so.1
Cannot load libnvidia-encode.so.1
Cannot load libnvidia-encode.so.1
Cannot load libnvidia-encode.so.1
[21:53:15] hb_init: starting libhb thread
[21:53:15] thread 7fc2af2fb700 started ("libhb")
Missing input device. Run HandBrakeCLI --help for syntax.

HandBrake has exited.
Am I just misunderstanding the command? Is this not the way to import custom presets into the CLI version? Or perhaps I should be using this preset differently?

For reference, the preset file is a slightly modified version of HQ 1080p30 using CBR and 23.976fps instead. Thanks in advance for your assistance.
User avatar
Rodeo
HandBrake Team
Posts: 12604
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:55 pm

Re: Trouble importing presets into CLI

Post by Rodeo »

Preset files can contain a unlimited number of presets. You need to specify the preset name as well.
User avatar
Rodeo
HandBrake Team
Posts: 12604
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:55 pm

Re: Trouble importing presets into CLI

Post by Rodeo »

And also, you need to specify an input file and output file too.
Post Reply