Easy ubuntu cli / cron job to batch convert recursively

Discussion of the HandBrake command line interface (CLI)
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
wildebeest

Easy ubuntu cli / cron job to batch convert recursively

Post by wildebeest »

Hi there, I've been using handbrake on Windows. Recently however, I built myself an Ubuntu Server 18.04 LTS NAS with a decent GPU and thought I'd use that to batch convert tons of drone footage b-roll quality to save some hard disk space. I saw the below which looks exciting, however, I'm running a headless server and don't want to start a docker container with GUI etc, because then it gets nasty with GPU utilization and I'm not a docker expert (yet).

https://www.reddit.com/r/PleX/comments/ ... recursive/

Ideally, I'd like to do this in a more simple way, over command line or bash script. Does anybody use anything similar as I'm sure it's a common query, I just couldn't find anything that does exactly what I needed:

• script that allows specifying input and output directories
  • input and output directory can be the same or different. If different, the output directory however needs to replicate the (sub-)folder structure of the original path.
  • if folders are the same, filename extension ....-converted.mp4 would be needed
  • settings can be fixed at 1920x1080 x 30p for all, unless original is already lower-res (see below "bonus" query about preserving original resolution
  • should recursively scan all folders and place the converted video
  • needs to use NVIDIA GPU
  • "bonus" query: it would of course be great if handbrake could maintain the original resolution and frame rate and just re-compress the video itself. This way, I could throw HD and 4K content at the script without having to worry about losing detail in the footage beyond the compression impact of course.