Page 1 of 1

Question: Is 'Web Optimized' enabled by default in CLI?

Posted: Fri Jun 14, 2019 5:01 pm
by Kaulquappe
I forgot to append --optimize (but also didn't append --no-optimize) when using the current CLI version and did not use any preset.

So I wonder, what is the default behaviour then?

Re: Question: Is 'Web Optimized' enabled by default in CLI?

Posted: Fri Jun 14, 2019 5:55 pm
by JohnAStebbins
Depends on what preset you use. Presets intended for web delivery or streaming have this enabled by default.

Re: Question: Is 'Web Optimized' enabled by default in CLI?

Posted: Fri Jun 14, 2019 6:20 pm
by mduell
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.

Re: Question: Is 'Web Optimized' enabled by default in CLI?

Posted: Sat Jun 15, 2019 9:06 am
by Kaulquappe
JohnAStebbins wrote: Fri Jun 14, 2019 5:55 pm Depends on what preset you use. Presets intended for web delivery or streaming have this enabled by default.
I did not use a preset:
Kaulquappe wrote: Fri Jun 14, 2019 5:01 pm [...] and did not use any preset.
Command I've used:

Code: Select all

HandBrakeCLI.exe --input "raw.mkv" --output "rendered.mp4" --audio-lang-list "und" --native-language "deu" --all-audio --quality 19 --rate 30 --pfr --ab 320 --encoder nvenc_h264 --width 1920 --height 1080 --crop 0:0:0:0
I now see that the default preset which is used will be the preset with the name CLI Default. Optimization seems to be disabled because Mp4Optimize is set to false.

I've checked the MP4 file and it seems, the MOOV atom is - as expected - not positioned at the beginning:

Code: Select all

root:~# qtfaststart -l video.mp4
ftyp (32 bytes)
mdat (4445064076 bytes)
moov (13214296 bytes)
However, Google Chrome and Mozilla Firefox are able to play a MP4 with 4 GB at any position without any problem which is quite interesting because in the past they were not able to do that. Does anyone know why is that?

Re: Question: Is 'Web Optimized' enabled by default in CLI?

Posted: Sat Jun 15, 2019 12:35 pm
by BradleyS
Because if your web server supports it, HTTP allows your browser to request any byte range. So it asks for the end if the file first to figure things out.

Re: Question: Is 'Web Optimized' enabled by default in CLI?

Posted: Thu Jun 27, 2019 4:49 am
by Deleted User 13735
BradleyS wrote: Sat Jun 15, 2019 12:35 pm Because if your web server supports it, HTTP allows your browser to request any byte range. So it asks for the end if the file first to figure things out.
Is that only with HTML5 ?

Re: Question: Is 'Web Optimized' enabled by default in CLI?

Posted: Thu Jun 27, 2019 4:51 am
by BradleyS
Not related to HTML. HTTP 1.1 supports it, just need the web server software to support it and be enabled.